"As of 2018-03-22, over 12,000 images are now Open Data with a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) or Public Domain (CC0) license! That is approximately 2/3 of the images in the collection."
The ITIS was created through a cooperative partnerships of "U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists" to provide access to "authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world." Users can search the database by common name, scientific name, or taxonomic serial number.
The Cornell Lab of Ornithology provides an online informational guide to over 500 species of birds. It also provides access to video and audio for some of the birds as well as a section of birdcams.
"Physical anthropology is a biological science that deals with the adaptations, variability, and evolution of human beings and their living and fossil relatives. Because it studies human biology in the context of human culture and behavior, physical anthropology is also a social science." The AAPA site provides membership and organization information. In addition student's can find information about careers, graduate programs, and funding opportunities. Some areas of the site may be limited to member access.
Established in 1919 the society promotes the study of mammals. The site provides article abstracts from ASM publications, information on obtaining slides from the image library, employment information, and information on grants and awards. The site provides a searchable directory of ASM Mammologists on e-mail. There is also a Student Affairs section with information geared towards students involved in the study of mammology.
Provides access to information on amphibian biology and conservation. Search or browse the database. Searching by country is also available. Many entries include photos.
"Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan"
This site provides information on endangered animals including a general profile with pictures, interesting trivia, and facts about the animal's endangered status. Includes references. The site can be searched with a general searchbox or users can access the animals using the Individual Species Index which includes common and scientific names, the Species Group Index which includes common names of species group by category or use the Country Index to find information on a specific country and the endangered animal population there. It also provides a listing of the World's Rarest Mammals and links to other sites.
"This site is designed to provide images, animations, and video for classroom and outreach learning. To supplement the visual information, each file has a description and metadata including the origins and ownership for the image."
"Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions joined together to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project."
also accessible through the Internet Archive
"As of 2018-03-22, over 12,000 images are now Open Data with a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) or Public Domain (CC0) license! That is approximately 2/3 of the images in the collection."
"is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries." The site is managed by librarians and scientists.
Includes 58 digitized volumes of the Biologia Centrali-Americana. Use the index to access the volumes by clicking on a plant or animal group. Includes nearly 50,000 descriptions and images from over 18,000 species of animals and plants.
"... is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research."A quick search and advanced search feature are available or access journals by browsing.
"This web site primarily covers bugs occurring in America North of Mexico. Dedicated naturalists volunteer their time and resources here to provide this service. We strive to provide accurate information, but we are mostly just amateurs attempting to make sense of a diverse natural world. If you need expert professional advice, contact your local extension office." Find classification information and images. Also provides links to other sites, book information and with registration - access to discussion forums. There is a search box or users can access bugs by clicking on pictures under the Clickable Guide.
"This website represents over 25 years of experience capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research." The site provides images and clips which can be used by students and teachers in class assignments, projects, reports etc. The site can be browsed or users can access an index or search tools. Also provides links to other websites by topic and a homework section for help with special projects. The site is presented by James A. Sullivan a retired professor.
The ITIS was created through a cooperative partnerships of "U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists" to provide access to "authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world." Users can search the database by common name, scientific name, or taxonomic serial number.
From the the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center the lab researches biological invasions - "the establishment of species beyond their historical range." The site contains information on the research performed at the lab, publications, and links to other sites. In addition the site provides access to several databases which can be searched for information. The Aquatic Invasions Research Directory - "a searchable database of current information on people, research, technology, management issues and policy relevant to aquatic invasions." The National Exotic Marine and Estuarine Species Information System - "resource for information on non-native, or exotic, species that occur in coastal marine waters of the United States." The National Ballast Information Clearinghouse - "The principal aims of NBIC are to quantify the amounts and origins of ballast water discharged in US coastal systems and to determine the degree to which such water has undergone open-ocean exchange or alternative treatments designed to reduce the likelihood of ballast-mediated invasions by exotic species." NISbase - "a portal ... through which a user can query multiple invasive species databases at one time with the convenience of a single search form."
"Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease." The site provides access to tools, database and other research resources.
This library "covers a wide variety of subjects, including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law. The NSGL staff lends documents all over the world to aid scientists, teachers, students, fishermen, and many other individuals in their research and studies." Search a bibliographic database to obtain citations and abstracts of Sea Grant publications. Full-text links are provided for available electronic items.
"NatureServe is the definitive source for information on rare and endangered species and ecosystems in the Americas. This online guide provides information on the 100,000 species and ecosystems that we track."
This database from the National Center for Biotechnology Information provides access to taxonomy information. Users can search the database with a scientific name to locate information such as the common name, rank, synonyms, etc. "The NCBI taxonomy database is not an authoritative source for nomenclature or classification - please consult the relevant scientific literature for the most reliable information."
"This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI, the National Center for Biotechnology Information. The database contains textual information and references. NOTE: OMIM is intended for use primarily by physicians and other professionals concerned with genetic disorders, by genetics researchers, and by advanced students in science and medicine. While the OMIM database is open to the public, users seeking information about a personal medical or genetic condition are urged to consult with a qualified physician for diagnosis and for answers to personal questions." The site also provides links to other related resources.
"... features images of wildflowers native to the Southeastern United States that are identified by both common and scientific names and are accompanied by a description. The majority of the images in this collection were photographed by Caroline R. Dean in the wild lands and along roadsides throughout Alabama. This collection has been created to share the beauty and knowledge of our most colorful of all natural resources, and to promote the appreciation, use, and conservation of native plants."
An open access resource from CABI ((Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International) that includes "datasheets, maps, images, abstracts and full text on invasive species of the world."
"Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done using text queries as well as query images. Open-i provides access to over 3.7 million images from about 1.2 million PubMed Central® articles; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations. "
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct. Connections between Tree of Life web pages follow phylogenetic branching patterns between groups of organisms, so visitors can browse the hierarchy of life and learn about phylogeny and evolution as well as the characteristics of individual groups.
