Internet Resources by Subject: Health - General

"is a portal to the Web sites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and other Federal departments and agencies."

The website from U.S. Department of Health and Human Services was created for use by Consumers. It is considered "a key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet. healthfinder® links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,500 health-related organizations." The site is easy to use and can be browsed or searched. It includes an Online Checkups section where users can find information on calculating body mass index, cancer risk, depression screening, diabetes risk and much more.

"MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free."

PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

"The Administration for Community Living was created around the fundamental principle that older adults and people with disabilities of all ages should be able to live where they choose, with the people they choose, and with the ability to participate fully in their communities."

"... is the largest nonprofit fitness certification and education provider in the world. Widely recognized as "America's Authority on Fitness," ACE continually sets standards and protects the public against unqualified fitness professionals and unsafe or ineffective fitness products, programs and trends." The ACE website provides information for those interested in getting fit or those interested in entering the professional field of fitness. The site includes an Exercise Library which provides explanations as well as pictures demonstrating correct exercise techniques. A recipe search is available for those interested in finding healthy, nutritious meals. Find health and fitness tips, information on finding a health club or a personal trainer.

The ADA page from the U.S. Department of Justice provides information on disability rights.

"is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries." The site is managed by librarians and scientists.

"... is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research."A quick search and advanced search feature are available or access journals by browsing.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is recognized as the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people - at home and abroad, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships." The website can be used to find statistical information and a variety of publications. It can also be used to find information on a number of health related topics including information for traveler's, vaccines, and workplace safety. The site has an index available or can be searched by keyword.

"ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details." The site allows users to search or browse for clinical trial information. It also provides links to other available resources.

The United States Food and Drug Administration is part of the Department of Health and Human Services. The FDA is responsible for the safety, wholesomeness and sanitary conditions for nation's food supply. In addition it approves the supply of veterinary and human drugs, biological products and medical devices to ensure that they are safe and effective. The FDA is also responsible for the safety of cosmetics and electronic products that emit radiation. The website has a site map, an A to Z index and also a keyword search. Users can find information about all the areas handled by the FDA, find information on current hot topics, and FDA activities. Information is available for consumers, patients, health professionals and educators, the Press and more. The site also provides access to a number of manuals and publications.

The United States Department of Health and Human Services is the main agency of the Federal Government responsible for health related issues, as well as issues related to social welfare. The website provides information on a number of these topics. Access information on medicaid and medicare, domestic violence, mental health, specific diseases and treatments, traveler's health, etc. In addition there is information concerning disasters, emergencies, laws and policies. The Resource Locator section provides access to information for finding appropriate assistance regarding nursing homes, hotlines, child care, energy assistance, health insurance, and much more.

"is a portal to the Web sites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and other Federal departments and agencies."

The website from U.S. Department of Health and Human Services was created for use by Consumers. It is considered "a key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet. healthfinder® links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,500 health-related organizations." The site is easy to use and can be browsed or searched. It includes an Online Checkups section where users can find information on calculating body mass index, cancer risk, depression screening, diabetes risk and much more.

"KFF is an endowed, nonprofit organization filling the need for trusted, independent information on national health issues. Legally we are a public charity — not a foundation — and as I hope you know, we are an independent national organization, headquartered in San Francisco, without any connection to Kaiser Permanente."

Designed to provide doctor-approved health information about children from before birth through adolescence. The site aims to give parents, kids, and teens current, accurate and jargon free information about health concerns related to children. The site was created by The Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media and has been available since 1995. "KidsHealth has separate areas for kids, teens, and parents - each with its own design, age-appropriate content, and tone. There are literally thousands of in-depth features, articles, animations, games, and resources - all original and all developed by experts in the health of children and teens."

This site from the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research provides access to a variety of health related information. There are articles on diseases and conditions, videos, health tools and much more.

"MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free."

"Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease." The site provides access to tools, database and other research resources.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research. The site includes information on publications, health information, grants and research.

A reliable and current information resource on women’s health offering free women’s health information on more than 800 topics through our call center and web site. It is a service of the Office on Women's Health (OWH) in the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

This office of the NIH was created to explore the role of dietary supplements in U.S. health care, promote, conduct, and coordinate the research and study of supplements, and compile the results of the studies. The site provides access to information, databases, news, and more.

"...is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource." Find out about the PLoS open access project and access free online journals.

PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

"The Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is pleased to announce that a new PubMed® subset, "Dietary Supplements," is now available. It succeeds the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database which was a collaboration between the ODS and the U.S. Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library.

The Dietary Supplement subset is a joint project between the NIH National Library of Medicine (NLM®) and ODS. This subset was created using a search strategy including terms provided by ODS, and selected journals indexed for MEDLINE® that include significant dietary supplement-related content."

The Surgeon General's office oversees the Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service, it is a part of the Office of Public Health and Science, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Surgeon General is appointed by the President, confirmed by the Senate, and serves a 4 year term. The website provides access to information from the Surgeon General including speeches, testimony to Congress, reports, publications, and more.

This website gives users information on the services and programs available from the Department of Health for the Commonwealth of Virginia. In addition it provides an A to Z list of Health Topics, statistical information, answers to questions about vital records (birth certificates, death certificates, etc.), access to online forms, and other contact information.

"WebMD Health is the leading consumer-focused healthcare information Web site. Our mission is to be the most objective, credible and trusted source of consumer healthcare information that helps people play an active role in managing their own health." The site provides access to news, online support groups, health management tools, a symptom checker and more. In addition to the site directed at consumers (patients), WebMd also provides sites directed toward health care professionals through MedScape (http://www.medscape.com/px/urlinfo) and other services for professionals.

"The World Health Organization is the United Nations specialized agency for health. It was established on 7 April 1948. WHO's objective, as set out in its Constitution, is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health. Health is defined in WHO's Constitution as a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity." Use the site to find information about world wide health concerns.

"... is a biographical dictionary of medical eponyms." The site can be browsed alphabetically by the medical name, the associated person's name, by disease category, or searched by keyword. In addition there are special browse categories by country of origin of the person for whom it was named and also for Female Entries. The entry provides synonyms, all associated people, a brief description, and bibliography.

Concerned about your risk for some common diseases? Check out the risk assessment tools provided here. This site was created by the Harvard Center for Cancer Prevention and began as Your Cancer Risk, but has now expanded to include heart disease, stroke, diabetes, and osteoporosis. By clicking on each disease name users are taken to an interactive questionnaire that will help to assess their risk. It will also provide personalized prevention tips.