Internet Resources by Subject: Classical Studies

The main collection was designed to cover "the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. " It includes both primary and secondary resources. Click on the Collections link to access these resources and resources for other topics including Arabic language documents; materials for the study of the Germanic Peoples; primary and secondary sources in early modern English literature; Issues of the Richmond Times Dispatch; Sources on the history of the 19th-century United States and Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri.

Scholarly resources in Classics Studies, focusing on on the Ancient Mediterranean (particularly Greece and Rome) during the Classical and Hellenistic periods. The resources are primarily freely available and have undergone an evaluation process.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site archives BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present. Subscription to the ongoing journal is free, consult the site to see how to subscribe.

Scholarly resources in Classics Studies, focusing on on the Ancient Mediterranean (particularly Greece and Rome) during the Classical and Hellenistic periods. The resources are primarily freely available and have undergone an evaluation process.

"Written to “teach mythology not as a study but as a relaxation from study,” these ageless volumes span the ages: from the Olympus of Zeus and the Valhalla of Thor, to the Round Table of King Arthur and the escapades of Robin Hood."

"Preserved materials relate to the study of the ancient Near East and cover such topics as the archaeology, art, history, language, law, and religions of Sumer, Babylonia, Assyria, Egypt, Nubia, Persia, and other ancient peoples of Anatolia and the Fertile Crescent. Classics materials span the time from the rise of Bronze Age Aegean culture through the period in the Middle Ages and include volumes relating to the history, art and archaeology of the classical world. Together, these two collections form a rational continuum in the progress of mankind's achievements towards civilization."
A University of Chicago Digital Collection

"The Ancient World Mapping Center is an interdisciplinary research center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill."
"On this page you will find hosted a series of freely available maps that, just as before, are available for free educational use (under the CC BY-NC 3.0 license) and also can be licensed for publication at nominal cost. These maps are organized according to rough geographic regions"

This page of the project contains access to public databases; other information on the site is available for a fee.
"The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago."

This site created by James J. O'Donnell, a professor of Classical Studies, provides information on Saint Augustine of Hippo. Includes links to texts, some are in Latin and others that have been translated. Also provides other research resources.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site archives BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present. Subscription to the ongoing journal is free, consult the site to see how to subscribe.

"The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek. Except for fragments, it contains all the texts of these poems in the original Greek. In addition, the Chicago Homer includes English and German translations, in particular Lattimore's Iliad, James Huddleston's Odyssey, Daryl Hine's translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss. Through the associated web site Eumaios users of the Chicago Homer can also from each line of the poem access pertinent Iliad Scholia and papyrus readings."

"Didaskalia is an English-language publication about Greek and Roman drama, dance, and music as they are performed today. The name Didaskalia is taken from the inscriptions used to record the outcomes of drama and music festivals in Athens. The need for records of productions is greater today than it was in Athens, because there is more Greek and Roman drama performed in more parts of the world than there ever was in antiquity." Full-text access is provided for most of the articles. Some issues include book and theater reviews. The journal can be searched or browsed. In addition a Study Area is available providing an overview of ancient theater, a dictionary, and links to other sites. Online discussion groups are available in the Agora area.

"A monumental study in comparative folklore, magic and religion, The Golden Bough shows parallels between the rites and beliefs, superstitions and taboos of early cultures and those of Christianity. It had a great impact on psychology and literature and remains an early classic anthropological resource." by Sir James Frazer

"Chosen from the Mesopotamian collection of the Oriental Institute Museum of the University of Chicago, this website tells the story of ancient Mesopotamia now present-day Iraq — a story shared by all humans."
A University of Chicago Digital Collection

The main collection was designed to cover "the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. " It includes both primary and secondary resources. Click on the Collections link to access these resources and resources for other topics including Arabic language documents; materials for the study of the Germanic Peoples; primary and secondary sources in early modern English literature; Issues of the Richmond Times Dispatch; Sources on the history of the 19th-century United States and Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri.

"... is the Internet's largest provider of free and fully downloadable Greek and Latin grammars and readers." The site also provides a Forum, Study Groups, tutorials, and a subscription newsletter.

A digital topographical dictionary of Ancient Rome provided by the libraries at the University of Chicago.

"...is first and foremost a community of scholars, both teachers and students, who create online resources for teaching about the Latin language and ancient Roman culture. The VRoma MOO requires logging on as a guest or through your personal character and password, but all the web resources are freely accessible on the internet. "