Internet Resources by Subject: Virginia History

"... an online resource being published by the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities that explores the commerce, history, culture, arts, and sciences of the Commonwealth."

Opened in April 1997, the Library collects, at a single location, various informational resources on the culture and history of colonial British America, the American Revolution, and the early United States. It includes collections of books, journals, manuscripts, visual resources, and online services. The Library is available for "scholars, advanced students, the Foundation's staff, and the public." The site provides information on accessing the variety of sources available as well as links to internet sites. Please note that some of the sites are subscription databases and restricted. Also provides access to a digitized version of the Virginia Gazette newspaper.

The LVA is located in Richmond. It contains a vast array of materials that would be useful in the study of Virginia History, among other things. The website provides information about a number of the collections available in the Library. Some of these collections are available online, but be aware that not all of the collections are indexed or made available online. It is possible to contact the Library to see if they would have information of use before making plans to visit.

This website from the Library of Virginia provides a list of local Virginia Historical Societies. Contact information including a website and email are provided if available. Historical societies can often provide access to unique primary source documents.

"Connecting people to America's past through the unparalleled story of Virginia. By collecting, preserving, and interpreting the Commonwealth's history, we link past with present and inspire future generations."

"A digital research, teaching and learning project that explores the legacies of the Jamestown settlement and "the Virginia experiment." As a work in progress, Virtual Jamestown aims to shape the national dialogue on the occasion of the four hundred-year anniversary observance in 2007 of the founding of the Jamestown colony." The site provides access to digital versions of primary source materials as well as timelines, bibliographies, essays, and links to additional internet resources.