Internet Resources by Subject: American Studies

Access information collected by the Census Bureau. Provides access by category, a state and country quick facts, a search function, and a variety of tools for accessing the information including an alphabetical subject listing. Also provides access to a publciations area where users can retrieve .pdf versions of Census publications by topic.

A site designed by the Library of Congress, the center was "created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present" this great heritage of American folklife through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibition, publication, and training." Folklife reflects the culturally richness of the ordinary American through everyday life. It covers things from songs and stories to crafts. The Center includes the Archive of Folk Culture, established in the Library of Congress in 1928, which is "one of the largest collections of ethnographic material from the United States and around the world." The website provides an introduction to the American Folklife Center and its Archive of Folk Culture and provides information on programs, activities, online presentations, and the variety of other resources available for folklife research.

"State Department’s Bureau of International Information Programs (IIP) engages international audiences on issues of foreign policy, society and values to help create an environment receptive to U.S. national interests."

Read more: http://iipdigital.usembassy.gov/iipdigital-en/aboutus.html#ixzz31W9c7EaL

This website explores different aspects of U.S. History from approximately 1857-1912. It includes political cartoons, lesson plans, excerpts from Harper's Weekly, biographies, bibliographies, reference lists, and more. [For access to the Harper's Weekly subscription database go to the A-Z list of databases.]

A site at the Thurgood Marshall Law Library which provides access to the historical record of this Federal Agency. Documents can be accessed by title, date, subject, or sudoc number. Coverage begins with the Civil Rights Act of 1957. Additional information may also be found at U.S. Commission on Civil Rights web page (http://www.usccr.gov/).

"A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."

"The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities." Users can search for videos or browse by a number of categories: Genre, Duration, Color, Sound, or Collections. Information is provided about the video along with a link to download it. Videos may require browser plug-ins for viewing.

"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions. "

"...promotes the understanding and continuity of diverse contemporary grassroots cultures in the United States and abroad." The Center sponsors an annual Folklife Festival, produces documentary films, and educational materials. It also has a documentary collection of expressive culture in the Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections." Fellowships, internships, and training opportunities are available.

Access information collected by the Census Bureau. Provides access by category, a state and country quick facts, a search function, and a variety of tools for accessing the information including an alphabetical subject listing. Also provides access to a publciations area where users can retrieve .pdf versions of Census publications by topic.

"The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an independent Federal agency that preserves our nation's history and defines us as a people by overseeing the management of all Federal records." The website provides information and access to a variety of public documents and other resources available from NARA. Some are accessible in digital formats through the website. Users can search the site by keyword, use the site index, or navigate through the various sections to find what is available.

Provides information and analysis on public opion from all over the world. Explore the site through topics or by regions of the world. This site is "a publication of the Program on International Policy Attitudes at the University of Maryland."