Internet Resources by Subject: Gerontology

"The Administration for Community Living was created around the fundamental principle that older adults and people with disabilities of all ages should be able to live where they choose, with the people they choose, and with the ability to participate fully in their communities."

This Federal Government site provides access to statistics regarding older Americans. It was created in 1986 in order to encourage cooperation among government agencies with aging related data.

The Federal Government's Eldercare Locator website was created to help connect seniors and caregivers with information on services available on a state, local, and community level. Users may search the service online following the guided search procedure, or if they prefer, they may choose to use the number provided (1-800-677-1116) to speak to someone who can provide them with the information they need.

"AARP is a membership organization dedicated to enhancing the experience of aging through advocacy, information, and services." The website provides information about the organization, its stand on various issues, and the benefits of membership. The site also provides articles and information on topics of interest to seniors such as driver safety, older workers, health, etc. In addition the site has disussion groups and gaming sections. Some areas of the site may be restricted to members only.

"The Administration for Community Living was created around the fundamental principle that older adults and people with disabilities of all ages should be able to live where they choose, with the people they choose, and with the ability to participate fully in their communities."

Free to those looking for jobs in the gerontology field this site provides searching options, online applications, email alerting and more. The site is provided by the Gerontological Society of America.

This Federal Government site provides access to statistics regarding older Americans. It was created in 1986 in order to encourage cooperation among government agencies with aging related data.

The ASA calls itself "the largest organization of professionals in the field of aging." The Society publishes a number of resources and provides full-text access to many of the articles on the website. An article search feature is also available and provides abstracts and citations to articles related to the study of aging. Access to the full-text of many of these articles requires membership in the ASA. The site also provides access to other resources and has an information section designed for students.

"A membership organization of colleges and universities that offer education, training, and research programs in the field of aging." The site provides resources on locating programs, scholarships and careers in the field of aging. Some information may require membership or a fee for access.

The Federal Government's Eldercare Locator website was created to help connect seniors and caregivers with information on services available on a state, local, and community level. Users may search the service online following the guided search procedure, or if they prefer, they may choose to use the number provided (1-800-677-1116) to speak to someone who can provide them with the information they need.

A non-profit professional organization for those involved in the field of aging. Provides access to Gerontology News.

"MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free."

Located within ICPSR and funded by the National Institute on Aging, the NACDA aims to "advance research on aging by helping researchers to profit from the under-exploited potential of a broad range of datasets." Download data sets, use the online data analysis system, and access publications and related site and literature information.

The National Opinion Research Center, NORC, is a private, non-commercial social science research organization. Some citations for NORC publications include links to downloadable PDF documents or to external websites, which may require registration, subscription, or payment to view the document. See the publications area of the site for more information.

"PAA provides programs in cooperation with other community agencies in Hampton, Newport News, Williamsburg, Poquoson, James City and York counties to assist older Virginians in independent and productive living."

"SeniorNet's mission is to provide older adults education for and access to computer technologies to enhance their lives and enable them to share their knowledge and wisdom." Browse or search the site for information. Contains helpful information for both novice and experienced computer users. In addition to information on computers and technology other resources of interest to the senior community are provided.