Internet Resources by Subject: Students Pre, K-12

This website from Information Please, provides helpful tools for kids. Includes an atlas, dictionary, almanac, and an encyclopedia. In addition the site has educational games and quizzes to help make learning fun, as well as other tools and resources to help with homework.

This site is "a free and open educational resource for faculty, students, and self-learners around the world. OCW supports MIT's mission to advance knowledge and education, and serve the world in the 21st century. It is true to MIT's values of excellence, innovation, and leadership." The site includes access to suggested readings, lecture notes, assignments and other related study materials.

"As of 2018-03-22, over 12,000 images are now Open Data with a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) or Public Domain (CC0) license! That is approximately 2/3 of the images in the collection."

"Finding a job can be a challenge for youth. They must determine what careers are available, what their interests are, and what skills they have or need to develop. Numerous resources are available to help youth get a sense of their interest and skills as well as gain employment experience and learn about employment opportunities."

"This website represents over 25 years of experience capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research." The site provides images and clips which can be used by students and teachers in class assignments, projects, reports etc. The site can be browsed or users can access an index or search tools. Also provides links to other websites by topic and a homework section for help with special projects. The site is presented by James A. Sullivan a retired professor.

A site from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign's Library. It provides information about college and university rankings. It includes a Caution and Controversy section, a bibliography of articles which discuss rankings as well as links to wide variety of resources which provide rankings.

The Board is made of over 4,500 schools, colleges, universities, and other educational organizations. Programs sponsored by the Board include the SAT, the PSAT/NMSQT and the AP - Advanced Placement. The site provides access to information about the Board, programs, and news. Also available are resources for students, parents and educators to help develop and implement a plan for getting into college.

"U.S. News provides nearly 50 different types of numerical rankings and lists to help students narrow their college search. "

From the Discovery Channel, this website includes free resources for teachers, parents and students.

Provides access to an image bank with images available for non-commercial use to enhance Earth education. (Some images can be used commercially for a fee.) The images can be searched or browsed. Also available on the site is information about careers, an Interactive Geological Time Scale, games and other resources.

A site provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the MarcoPolo Education Foundation. The site offers "high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies." The provided sites have been reviewed for content, design and educational impact. Choose one of the available categories and then select either the lesson plans or websites tab. Once there users can limit the information by grade level and/or a specific subcategory.

"...manages 325 projects in 35 countries. Our work strengthens nearly every facet of society, including early child development, K-12 education, health promotion, workforce preparation, community development, learning technologies, basic and adult education, institutional reform, medical ethics, and social justice." The site provides information on the projects sponsored by the EDC as well as online access to many of their publications. There is also a search page that can be used to locate specific information. Searches can be conducted by keyword or by using the guided search feature.

This website from Information Please, provides helpful tools for kids. Includes an atlas, dictionary, almanac, and an encyclopedia. In addition the site has educational games and quizzes to help make learning fun, as well as other tools and resources to help with homework.

Resources designed for use by students and parents in Virginia's public schools.

A U.S government site designed to provide information on health issues of importance to girls including fitness & nutrition; relationships; drugs & alcohol; etc.

This are of the Jefferson Lab website provides access to science resources and materials for teachers and students. It includes reference materials, activities, homework helpers, games, puzzles, information on internships and more.

Designed to provide doctor-approved health information about children from before birth through adolescence. The site aims to give parents, kids, and teens current, accurate and jargon free information about health concerns related to children. The site was created by The Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media and has been available since 1995. "KidsHealth has separate areas for kids, teens, and parents - each with its own design, age-appropriate content, and tone. There are literally thousands of in-depth features, articles, animations, games, and resources - all original and all developed by experts in the health of children and teens."

.

This site is "a free and open educational resource for faculty, students, and self-learners around the world. OCW supports MIT's mission to advance knowledge and education, and serve the world in the 21st century. It is true to MIT's values of excellence, innovation, and leadership." The site includes access to suggested readings, lecture notes, assignments and other related study materials.

Science related resources provided by NASA are divided into grade levels K-4; 5-8; 9-12; and Higher Education. A link to the NASA Kids' Club is also provided.

Designed to provide supplemental information for the understanding of literature. Includes literary analysis, literature profiles, metaphor analysis, themes, and author biographies. Search the site or browse the complete list or lists such as and New Additions and Most Popular. (Note - this site contains lots of advertising.)

"Science.gov is a gateway to more than 50 million pages of government science information." The site can be searched or browsed by subject. Includes information on internships, fellowships, conferences and more.

"QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more."

"The Student Press Law Center is an advocate for student free press rights and provides free legal help and information to students and the educators who work with them" The site provides a Resource Center with a variety of helpful sources of information and FAQs. It also provides news articles regarding students and free press in school newspapers.

This website is run by Gen and Kelly Tanabe who are Harvard graduates and authors of books on college admission and scholarships. The site provides a number of resources for helping students plan for college. It includes admissions tips, a database of scholarships, and an Ask Gen and Kelly section. The site also includes areas for adults planning to return to school, graduate students, and parents of students.

"The U.S. Geological Survey provides scientific information intended to help educate the public about natural resources, natural hazards, geospatial data, and issues that affect our quality of life. Discover selected online resources, including lessons, data, maps, and more, to support teaching, learning, education (K-12), and university-level inquiry and research."

This site was created as a resource for students and teachers of English as a Second Language (ESL.) Includes lesson plans, handouts, discussion forums and more. Native speakers of English may also find helpful information on the site regarding grammar and vocabulary.

This site from the Virginia Department of Education provides information on the Standards of Learning (SOL) in Virginia. Access resources, links and results.