Internet Resources by Subject: Environment

An agency of the U.S. Government, the EPA's mission "is to protect human health and the environment." The EPA webpage provides access to news, laws, regulations and other resources about the environment.

Established in 1994 this non-profit organization was designed to educate citizens about environmental problems. The site provides information on a variety of environmental issues such as clean air, global warming, energy and environmental health. The site provides reports, fact sheets and news as well as ways for individuals to become involved in environmental issues. Includes information on internships and careers.

"... documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress."

This site provides information on endangered animals including a general profile with pictures, interesting trivia, and facts about the animal's endangered status. Includes references. The site can be searched with a general searchbox or users can access the animals using the Individual Species Index which includes common and scientific names, the Species Group Index which includes common names of species group by category or use the Country Index to find information on a specific country and the endangered animal population there. It also provides a listing of the World's Rarest Mammals and links to other sites.

"As of 2018-03-22, over 12,000 images are now Open Data with a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) or Public Domain (CC0) license! That is approximately 2/3 of the images in the collection."

"is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries." The site is managed by librarians and scientists.

Includes 58 digitized volumes of the Biologia Centrali-Americana. Use the index to access the volumes by clicking on a plant or animal group. Includes nearly 50,000 descriptions and images from over 18,000 species of animals and plants.

Provides access to an image bank with images available for non-commercial use to enhance Earth education. (Some images can be used commercially for a fee.) The images can be searched or browsed. Also available on the site is information about careers, an Interactive Geological Time Scale, games and other resources.

A non-profit organization created to protect the environmental rights of all people, based in the U.S. it pays "special attention to U.S. environmental problems and to America’s role in causing and solving global problems..." The site provides links to environmental news, information on endangered species, pollution, global warming, and oceans.

Search over 30 journals from leading earth science societies and institutes. A browsing feature is also available. Searching and viewing of the abstracts is available for free. CNU users can check our Journal Finder database for availability of full-text or request articles not available through ILL. Some sample articles are provided for free.

Founded in 1984, the Institute "is a genuinely independent source of research and commentary..." It covers a variety of topics including education, the environment, and health care. The site also hosts the PolicyBot database, "the Internet's most extensive clearing-house for the work of free-market think tanks, with more than 12,500 studies and commentaries from over 350 think tanks and advocacy groups." The database can be browsed by topic or can be searched by keyword, author, publisher, and document number.

From the the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center the lab researches biological invasions - "the establishment of species beyond their historical range." The site contains information on the research performed at the lab, publications, and links to other sites. In addition the site provides access to several databases which can be searched for information. The Aquatic Invasions Research Directory - "a searchable database of current information on people, research, technology, management issues and policy relevant to aquatic invasions." The National Exotic Marine and Estuarine Species Information System - "resource for information on non-native, or exotic, species that occur in coastal marine waters of the United States." The National Ballast Information Clearinghouse - "The principal aims of NBIC are to quantify the amounts and origins of ballast water discharged in US coastal systems and to determine the degree to which such water has undergone open-ocean exchange or alternative treatments designed to reduce the likelihood of ballast-mediated invasions by exotic species." NISbase - "a portal ... through which a user can query multiple invasive species databases at one time with the convenience of a single search form."

Established in 1994 this non-profit organization was designed to educate citizens about environmental problems. The site provides information on a variety of environmental issues such as clean air, global warming, energy and environmental health. The site provides reports, fact sheets and news as well as ways for individuals to become involved in environmental issues. Includes information on internships and careers.

This library "covers a wide variety of subjects, including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law. The NSGL staff lends documents all over the world to aid scientists, teachers, students, fishermen, and many other individuals in their research and studies." Search a bibliographic database to obtain citations and abstracts of Sea Grant publications. Full-text links are provided for available electronic items.

"NatureServe is the definitive source for information on rare and endangered species and ecosystems in the Americas. This online guide provides information on the 100,000 species and ecosystems that we track."

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration is an agency of the Federal Government. The website provides access to weather related information, news, statistics, resources, etc. Includes access to the NOAA library, information on climate conditions, oceans, and more.

A non-profit corporation which conducts research on into a wide variety of areas including: Child Policy, Civil Justice, Education, Energy and the Environment, Substance Abuse, Terrorism and Homeland Security, etc. Many of their documents are available for free downloading, other publications may require a fee.

Search the site's database for information about endangered species such as: taxonomy, common names, habitat, biome and threat information.

"... is a global leader in the study of ecosystems in the coastal zone, where land and water meet and where human populations and their impacts are most concentrated." The site provides information on research being conducted, public programs, visiting, employment, internships, and volunteering. There is also a list of publications which can be searched via the online bibliographic database.

An agency of the U.S. Government, the EPA's mission "is to protect human health and the environment." The EPA webpage provides access to news, laws, regulations and other resources about the environment.

United States Geological Survey is a "federal source for science about the Earth, its natural and living resources, natural hazards, and the environment." The site provides access to a number of different resources. Among those are the Publications Warehouse - "Availability of content ranges from USGS Store purchase, to full text, to bibliographic citation only," Geological Information - "Includes links to major USGS geoscience databases and programs as well as resources for creating digital geologic maps," National Water Data - "provides a comprehensive gateway to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico." The site also has an educational section designed mainly for K-12 students and teachers. It provides access to information about USGS employment opportunities, student employment, post-doctoral employment programs, intern programs, and volunteer opportunities.

This site from the United States Geological Survey provides "access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico." Data is divided into categories of surface water, ground water, and water quality.