Internet Resources by Subject: Mathematics

Designed as "an interactive source for seeing, hearing, doing mathematics." The exhibits on the site do not require special knowledge, but instead are intended for those who are interested or curious about math. Requires Flash and Java plugins.

"MathWorldTM is the web's most complete mathematical resource, assembled over more than a decade by internet encyclopedist Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from the mathematics and internet communities. MathWorld is a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers." The site is searchable or there is an index available by broad topics such as algebra, applied mathematics, etc. or a more specific alphabetical index.

Searches scholarly literature in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Some full-text is provided free (open access). Consult with the CNU library staff about obtaining other materials.

"calc101.com can only do freshman integrals. Out of nearly four thousand tests from four calculus books, there were a few calc101.com couldn't do. That's better than 99.9%.Derivatives are free! Enter your function in the derivative field and press Do it! You can get the second derivative as well as the first by replacing 1 by 2 in the third box. Polynomial long multiplication and long division are also free. Integrals are cheap. You need to get a password to do an integral. You can buy a $15 password for 900 solutions."

This website is provided by the Irwin/McGraw-Hill publishing company. It provides links to sources for business related statistical information, links to university resources, as well as information on commercial software and books. An online verison of Pocket Dictionary of Statistics by Hardeo Sahai/Anwer Khurshid © 2002 is provided in .pdf format. The site also provides a statistical glossary.

This site features access to biographical information on scientists and encyclopedias in the areas of astronomy, chemistry, mathematics and physics. There is a site search feature or information can be accessed by browsing the desired topic area. Each area also has an alphabetical index. The biography area is broken down by branch of science, gender/minority status, historical periods, nationality, and prize winners.

"KJE Computer Solutions, LLC's information and interactive calculators are made available to you as self-help tools for your independent use and are not intended to provide investment advice." Calculators cover topics such as: mortgage, retirement, loans, debt, etc.

Used in Science, Mathematics, and in names of fraternities and sororities the Greek alphabet has been in use since around the 9th Century B.C. This chart provides the alphabet letter symbols, names and the English equivalent.

Designed as "an interactive source for seeing, hearing, doing mathematics." The exhibits on the site do not require special knowledge, but instead are intended for those who are interested or curious about math. Requires Flash and Java plugins.

"MathWorldTM is the web's most complete mathematical resource, assembled over more than a decade by internet encyclopedist Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from the mathematics and internet communities. MathWorld is a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers." The site is searchable or there is an index available by broad topics such as algebra, applied mathematics, etc. or a more specific alphabetical index.

Searches scholarly literature in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Some full-text is provided free (open access). Consult with the CNU library staff about obtaining other materials.

"Science.gov is a gateway to more than 50 million pages of government science information." The site can be searched or browsed by subject. Includes information on internships, fellowships, conferences and more.