Internet Resources by Subject: Communication Studies

The ACA is a not-for-profit virtual professional association. Created to promote academic and professional research, criticism, teaching, practical use, and exchange of principles and theories of human communication.

"Toastmasters is the best way to improve your communication skills. Lose your fears of public speaking and learn skills that will help you be more successful in whatever path you've chosen in life." Find a Toastmaster's club and practice your public speaking skills in a supportive group environment. The site provides a variety of resources about public speaking and leadership skills.

The ACA is a not-for-profit virtual professional association. Created to promote academic and professional research, criticism, teaching, practical use, and exchange of principles and theories of human communication.

"a professional association of teachers who seek to empower students through argument and advocacy." This organization sponsors the National Debate and National Individual Events for high school and college students.

"Debatabase is an authoritative collection of over seven hundred debates mostly written by experienced debaters. They cover topics from the affirmative action to Zimbabwe, on all sorts of themes including politics, economics, religion, culture, science and society. For debaters they may provide useful preparation materials and examples but the debates will be useful to everyone. Debatabase topics provide both sides of the debate rather than giving just one side of the argument as most blogs, newspapers and other articles you can find online do. We want you to make up your own mind on these important issues and believe you need both sides of the argument to make an informed choice."

"... a nonpartisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics." FactCheck.org monitors TV ads, debates, speeches, etc. for factual accuracy. The service is provided as a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. Use the site to find out the truth behind the political rhetoric.

Established to coordinate the sharing of language related activities at the Federal level. Anyone interested in languages (use, learning, or testing) may attend ILR plenary meetings and most meetings of the Training, Testing, and Translation & Interpretation Committees. The website provides archived publications, links to language associations, information for students, and information on careers.

A LibGuide for Journalism sites.

"This site is a springboard that librarians, students, and researchers can use to find information in the area of communication studies. It is not exhaustive, rather it includes the core or primary resources within each category presented. The resources included within this site were selected by communication studies librarians serving as members of the Association of College and Research Libraries Educational and Behavioral Sciences Section Communication Studies Committee" [of the Association of College & Research Libraries.]

An association founded to promote the study and teaching of language and literature. The website provides access to the MLA Language Map which can be used to learn about the linguistic and cultural composition of the U.S. It also provides a guide to doctoral programs in English and other languages, information on the MLA style, and other resources. Note: Some resources require a subscription for access. Access to the MLA International Bibliography Database is provided through the Literature Resource Center database.

"Toastmasters is the best way to improve your communication skills. Lose your fears of public speaking and learn skills that will help you be more successful in whatever path you've chosen in life." Find a Toastmaster's club and practice your public speaking skills in a supportive group environment. The site provides a variety of resources about public speaking and leadership skills.