Internet Resources by Subject: Asian Studies

"The East Asian Collection includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage. Currently, the collection consists of images that document early 20th century China including the the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China. The completed project will be a valuable resource for research into this region and its history."

"The University of Chicago is home to one of the world's great collections for the study of South Asia. We collect broadly across the full geographical extent of South Asia, in all languages of the subcontinent and all materials types, including ink-print, visual, audio and cartographic. We also collect selectively on Southeast Asia. Among our special strengths are materials for the study of Buddhism."
Some materials are available online

"The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world."

This site was created digitally preserve and disseminating "Tibetan and Sanskrit manuscripts that hold the philosophical, cultural, and religious heritage of endangered cultures dating back more than 2000 years." Selected texts are provided in English.

"The Asian Reading Room provides public access to more than 4 million items in over 130 Asian languages, such as Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Tibetan, Hindi, Thai, and many others. In the reading room, researchers can use the Asian Division’s collections of printed materials, microform, and databases and confer with reference librarians to answer research questions about the countries of East, South, and Southeast Asia." Selected collections are available digitally.

supports "the free dissemination of digital Buddhist educational material around the world and the systematic development of Dharma based pedagogy in partnership with Buddhist organisations worldwide" Contains texts, images and audio/video collections.

Oral history interviews (audio & transcripts) at The Centre of South Asian Studies at the University of Cambridge.

Translated by James Legge. Covers Confuscious and Menicus.

"Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters."

"The East Asian Collection includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage. Currently, the collection consists of images that document early 20th century China including the the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China. The completed project will be a valuable resource for research into this region and its history."

Primary and Secondary source material on Islam and the Islamic world. A subset of the larger Internet History Sourcebook Project.

Provides information about Japanese literature and Japanese authors.

"... a collaborative effort to make texts of classical Japanese literature available on the World Wide Web. " from The University of Virginia Library Electronic Text Center and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library

The only national library in Japan, it serves a similar purpose to the Library of Congress in the United States.

"The University of Chicago is home to one of the world's great collections for the study of South Asia. We collect broadly across the full geographical extent of South Asia, in all languages of the subcontinent and all materials types, including ink-print, visual, audio and cartographic. We also collect selectively on Southeast Asia. Among our special strengths are materials for the study of Buddhism."
Some materials are available online

"... is a scholarly, non-political, non-profit professional association open to all persons interested in Asia and the study of Asia."
See especially the Links & Resources and the Students sections.

"The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world."