Internet Resources by Subject: Civic Engagement/Social Entrepreneurship

"...combines the interdisciplinary perspectives of political economy, political sociology, political psychology, and political communication to advance our understanding of transnational citizen action. "
The site includes interviews, working papers and other publications.

Provides information on the Peace Corps including application information.

A site for individuals to find volunteer service opportunities.

The Center for Social Innovation is part of the Stanford Graduate School of Business. It provides access to a variety of resources.

The ELDIS database, hosted by Institute of Development Studies in Sussex, was created as an information gateway for development issues. It has a variety of resources including summaries, links to online documents, a directory of websites, databases, library catalogs, country profiles, resource guides, and email discussion lists and news services. Quick access to resources is provided through the topically arrranged guides which cover subjects such as: ageing populations, education, conflict, poverty, etc. The site can also be searched.

A resource for researching foreign aid and international development, this free database is "the world's largest database of individual foreign aid projects, accompanied by a variety of innovative software applications to analyze these data, and a blog for discussion of international development."

"...a national coalition of more than 1,100 college and university presidents - representing some 6 million students - dedicated to promoting community service, civic engagement, and service-learning in higher education."
The site provides resources for both faculty and students.

A site from the APA providing information and resources for service learning.

"...combines the interdisciplinary perspectives of political economy, political sociology, political psychology, and political communication to advance our understanding of transnational citizen action. "
The site includes interviews, working papers and other publications.

Provides resources for those working in or who wish to be involved in the non-profit sector. It includes resources for managers, job seekers, volunteers, teachers and more. It also provides news, information on careers fairs, and graduate school fairs. In addition to browsing the site also provides a search feature.

"Citizens play a critical role in advocating and helping to make public institutions more transparent, accountable and effective, and contributing innovative solutions to complex development challenges."

Provides information on the Peace Corps including application information.

"Civic Change, Inc. is the successor organization to the Pew Partnership for Civic Change. A civic research organization, Civic Change, Inc. provides consulting and program support to communities, governments, foundations, and nonprofit agencies. We help clients identify and implement solutions and strategies crucial to making communities stronger."

"Project Vote Smart, a citizen's organization, has developed a Voter's Self-Defense system to provide you with the necessary tools to self-govern effectively: abundant, accurate, unbiased and relevant information. As a national library of factual information, Project Vote Smart covers your candidates and elected officials in five basic categories: biographical information, issue positions, voting records, campaign finances and interest group ratings." The site provides a variety of resources for voters in a non-partisan format.

A site for individuals to find volunteer service opportunities.

The Center for Social Innovation is part of the Stanford Graduate School of Business. It provides access to a variety of resources.

The ELDIS database, hosted by Institute of Development Studies in Sussex, was created as an information gateway for development issues. It has a variety of resources including summaries, links to online documents, a directory of websites, databases, library catalogs, country profiles, resource guides, and email discussion lists and news services. Quick access to resources is provided through the topically arrranged guides which cover subjects such as: ageing populations, education, conflict, poverty, etc. The site can also be searched.

A libguide providing internet sites for non-profit businesses.