Internet Resources by Subject: World History

"In addition to electronic catalogues of Western manuscript collections, there are a number of online, digitized resources."

A site sponsored by Georgetown University designed to provide organized access to internet sites for Medieval Studies. The site can be searched or browsed by category. The search can be limited to type of materials, such as primary texts, maps, images, videos, etc.

"The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world."

"An open educational resource with peer-reviewed content for world and global history teachers, scholars, and students. This website provides more than 1,700 annotated primary sources, 100 teaching guides, 30 overviews of methods and approaches, and 250 website reviews."

"This guide is a list of scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. Intended primarily for librarians; it may be useful to scholars in this field. It is curated and managed by members of the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries. "

"In addition to electronic catalogues of Western manuscript collections, there are a number of online, digitized resources."

This digital library for British historical resources was created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. It provides "text and information about people, places and businesses from the medieval and early modern period." Users are encouraged to register with the site (for free) in order to use the available advanced features. A full-text search feature is available or the collections can be browsed. Some materials are available only to subscribers [CNU does not subscribe.]

Access 30,000 items from the extensive collections of the British Library including maps, photos, documents, books and more.

This site from the Library at Brigham Young University provides links to historical documents. These are mainly primary sources and have been transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

The German Historical Institute (GHI) was established in April 1987 as an independent non-profit foundation. The GHI is funded by the government of the Federal Republic of Germany but also seeks grants and accepts support for individual projects from other German sources.The GHI is an independent institute dedicated to the promotion of historical research in the United States and the Federal Republic of Germany and to the dissemination of historical knowledge." Use the site to find out about resources available in the Institute's Library, access Reference Guides on specific topics, find out about publications produced by the Institute and view selected issues online, search the directory of German Studies Scholars, and view selected documents and images online. In addition the site also provides information on programs, fellowships, events etc. of interest to German Studies Scholars.

A collection of broadside ballads - "A broadside ballad might be defined as a song text (or texts) printed on one side of a single sheet of paper. Sometimes there will be an indication of a tune, although music is very rare, and frequently they are illustrated. "

Note the majority of the transcripts are in Persian with a few in English. This Harvard University website provides access to a collection of "personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s. Of these, 118 narratives have been digitized and are available to researchers through this database. The collection provides scholars and practitioners the opportunity to listen to and read the personal accounts of many of Iran's former political leaders as they recall the times and events that shaped their lives and the life of their country."

This guide is a list of scholarly resources in Iberian Studies (Spain, Portugal and Andorra). Intended primarily for librarians; it may be useful to scholars in this field. It is curated and managed by members of the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries.

Scholarly resources in Italian Studies. The resources organized here are all freely available and have undergone a selection and evaluation process.

A site from the American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise it contains over 1000 articles and more than 5000 photographs and maps. The Library has several browsable categories available such as History, Women, and the Holocaust. The site also includes a glossary, links to other sites, publications, and other information. There is a search feature available.

The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) is to uncover, chronicle, and transmit the rich history of American Jewish women. The site provides access to a variety of research resources including The American Jewess magazine archives and a virtual archive containing biographical information, primary source materials, and more.

This collection is provided by the Library of Congress. "Sir Francis Drake, English explorer and naval strategist, circumnavigated the earth from 1577-1580. During these travels, Drake visited the Caribbean and the Pacific claiming a portion of California for Queen Elizabeth and waging battles on the Spanish. This collection comprises important primary and secondary materials accumulated about Drake’s voyages throughout the then Spanish territory of the Americas. Texts are in English, Latin, German, Dutch, Italian, Spanish and French."

A site sponsored by Georgetown University designed to provide organized access to internet sites for Medieval Studies. The site can be searched or browsed by category. The search can be limited to type of materials, such as primary texts, maps, images, videos, etc.

Official Documents is the official reference facility for Command and departmentally sponsored House of Commons Papers. From May 2005 onwards, all Command Papers and House of Commons Papers, as well as Key Departmental Papers, are available for free on the site in PDF format. The site also contains a selection of papers published before 17 May 2005.

"The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.

The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records. Documents are available in the official languages of the UN; some documents are also available in German.

ODS does not have the following types of materials: documents issued before 1993 that have not yet been digitized, press releases, sales publications, such as the Yearbook and the Treaty Series, and documents that do not have a UN symbol. "

This site "aims to become the leading information portal regarding the history, military, culture and arts of the Ottoman Empire that has once dominated a large territory from Egypt to Russia, from India to Austria." The site was created by LuckyEye Interactive and Netideas Capital Limited. The writer and editor of the site is Mr. Korkut Ozgen, born in Istanbul and a graduate of History Faculty at Bogazici University, Istanbul. Free membership is available for those who wish to use the Forum pages to discuss the Ottomans. The site is divided into four sections: The History, Campaigns and the Army, The Family, and Art and Culture. Includes maps, a glossary of terminology, a bibliography of useful reference sources, and links to other sites. A timeline of the Ottoman Empire is also available.

"The Petrie Museum houses an estimated 80,000 objects, making it one of the greatest collections of Egyptian and Sudanese archaeology in the world. It illustrates life in the Nile Valley from prehistory through the time of the pharaohs, the Ptolemaic, Roman and Coptic periods to the Islamic period. "
A searchable catalog of the collection with images is provided as well as other resources such as Digital Egypt for Universities.

Provides a compendium of knowledge for insight into money, fashion, food, religion, relationships and many other topics relevant to this time period. Recommended for use by Writers, Actors, and Re-enactors.
Information about the author and site designer is available on the site.

From the British Library, this site provides access to digitized versions of 253 Renaissance festival books. The books described festivals and ceremonies that took place in Europe The Texts section allows users to read the books in their original languages. The Experts Views area provides access to "high-level analysis and opinion from acknowledged experts, drawing on established scholarship." The Background Information section provides information about festival books. There is also a Basics section providing a brief overview on festivals, festival books, and what can be learned from them.

Examine every page of rare historic works; compare different editions side-by-side; choose standard or magnified view; read supporting material by our curators and other experts.
Shakespeare in Quarto
Caxton's Chaucer
Gutenberg Bible
Magna Carta
Renaissance Festival Books
Sample: Malory's Arthurian manuscript

"The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom has one of the largest archival collections in the world, spanning 1000 years of British history, from Domesday Book of 1086 to government papers recently released to the public." Some documents are available online. Searching the collections online is free, but some documents require a fee for access.

"The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world."

"An open educational resource with peer-reviewed content for world and global history teachers, scholars, and students. This website provides more than 1,700 annotated primary sources, 100 teaching guides, 30 overviews of methods and approaches, and 250 website reviews."

World History Matters is a portal to world history on the web. Use the search engine from the portal to search both sites at the same time. Or visit and search each site separately.

"Yad Vashem, the World Holocaust Remembrance Center, is the ultimate source for Holocaust education, documentation and research. From the Mount of Remembrance in Jerusalem, Yad Vashem's integrated approach incorporates meaningful educational initiatives, groundbreaking research and inspirational exhibits."