Internet Resources by Subject: Leadership

The Center, located at Harvard University, is "dedicated to excellence in leadership education and research" and it hopes to bridge the gap between theory and practice. The Publications area of the site provides access to the full-text of selected working papers and articles among other resources. The site provides a number of related internet links, information on people, and news and events.

"...is a nonprofit, nonpartisan educational organization whose vision is a world where individuals and organizations act with integrity." Includes resources such as articles, books, speeches, links etc. about ethics, business and organizational ethics, character development, global ethics, and integrity.

"The ILA was created in 1999 to bring together professionals with a keen interest in the study, practice, and teaching of leadership. Today, ILA is the largest worldwide community committed to leadership scholarship, development, and practice. We accomplish our mission through the synergy that occurs by bringing together our members and partners; collectively having a multiplier impact on leadership and change."

A site for individuals to find volunteer service opportunities.

ACE is "the major coordinating body for all the nation's higher education institutions." It includes nearly 1800 accredited, degree granting colleges and universities and also higher education-related associations, organizations, and corporations. The website provides news and information for those involved in higher education.

The mission of the Center "is to advance the understanding, practice and development of leadership for the benefit of society worldwide." The site provides information on the programs, scholarships and alumni of the Center. There is also information on the publications available from the Center. It is also possible to join the Center's online community for access to additional information.

The Center, located at Harvard University, is "dedicated to excellence in leadership education and research" and it hopes to bridge the gap between theory and practice. The Publications area of the site provides access to the full-text of selected working papers and articles among other resources. The site provides a number of related internet links, information on people, and news and events.

This site from the National Archives provides access to and information about the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution of the U.S., and the Bill of Rights.

The web page for the Democratic Party provides information about the Party's platform as well as information on contributing to the party and other ways to get involved in the political process.

"...is a nonprofit, nonpartisan educational organization whose vision is a world where individuals and organizations act with integrity." Includes resources such as articles, books, speeches, links etc. about ethics, business and organizational ethics, character development, global ethics, and integrity.

"These oral interviews reveal how leaders are nurtured, and how historical circumstances shape them. They are stories of identity -- stories about the self, stories about the group, and stories about value and meaning. They link the private and the public -- the personal and the professional."

"... a nonpartisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics." FactCheck.org monitors TV ads, debates, speeches, etc. for factual accuracy. The service is provided as a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. Use the site to find out the truth behind the political rhetoric.

The association was created "to champion the interests of historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) and predominantly black institutions (PBIs) with the executive, legislative, regulatory and judicial branches of federal and state government and with corporations, foundations, associations and non-governmental organizations." The site provides information on the association's programs, internships, and related news.

"Founded in 1983, the International MultiCultural Institute (iMCI, formerly the National MultiCultural Institute or NMCI) is proud to be one of the first organizations to have recognized the nation’s need for new services, knowledge, and skills in the growing field of multiculturalism and diversity.

In the past few years, over 50,000 participants have attended our national conferences and on-site workshops. Conference participants come from all 50 states and several countries around the world. Our Organizational Training and Consulting clients are nationwide. We have extensive experience working with corporations, educational institutions, government agencies and non-profit organizations in the areas of workforce diversity, human resource management, multicultural education and cross-cultural conflict resolution.

As a private, non-profit organization, iMCI is funded through fees for service, contracts, foundation grants, and corporate and individual contributions. Our highly qualified staff and network of trainers, consultants and clinicians include women and men of diverse ethnic and cultural backgrounds who bring a wide range of knowledge and expertise to the work."

The National Opinion Research Center, NORC, is a private, non-commercial social science research organization. Some citations for NORC publications include links to downloadable PDF documents or to external websites, which may require registration, subscription, or payment to view the document. See the publications area of the site for more information.

This is the website of the Republican Party. Users can learn about the GOP, the Party's platform and how to become involved in the political process.

A site for individuals to find volunteer service opportunities.

Through a variety of programs—for high school and college leaders to first-time political candidates and influential business and community leaders—the Sorensen Institute has established itself as a powerful and effective force for restoring public confidence in our political system.

"Toastmasters is the best way to improve your communication skills. Lose your fears of public speaking and learn skills that will help you be more successful in whatever path you've chosen in life." Find a Toastmaster's club and practice your public speaking skills in a supportive group environment. The site provides a variety of resources about public speaking and leadership skills.

"The ILA was created in 1999 to bring together professionals with a keen interest in the study, practice, and teaching of leadership. Today, ILA is the largest worldwide community committed to leadership scholarship, development, and practice. We accomplish our mission through the synergy that occurs by bringing together our members and partners; collectively having a multiplier impact on leadership and change."

"An independent, non-partisan federal institution created by Congress to promote the prevention, management, and peaceful resolution of international conflicts." The institute provides programs such as research grants, fellowships, education programs and publications. The website provides access to information about the various projects and programs of the Institute. It has the full-text of many of the reports, newsletters, etc.