Internet Resources by Subject: Alternative Medicine

This office of the NIH was created to explore the role of dietary supplements in U.S. health care, promote, conduct, and coordinate the research and study of supplements, and compile the results of the studies. The site provides access to information, databases, news, and more.

"The Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is pleased to announce that a new PubMed® subset, "Dietary Supplements," is now available. It succeeds the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database which was a collaboration between the ODS and the U.S. Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library.

The Dietary Supplement subset is a joint project between the NIH National Library of Medicine (NLM®) and ODS. This subset was created using a search strategy including terms provided by ODS, and selected journals indexed for MEDLINE® that include significant dietary supplement-related content."

This section of the National Cancer Institute's website provides information about the use of complementary and alternative medicine in the treatment of cancer.

NCCAM "is 1 of the 27 institutes and centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH)." Created to explore complementary and alternative practices "in the context of rigorous science, training complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) researchers, and disseminating authoritative information to the public and professionals." The site provides information and resources, research opportunities, clinical trials, news, etc.

This office of the NIH was created to explore the role of dietary supplements in U.S. health care, promote, conduct, and coordinate the research and study of supplements, and compile the results of the studies. The site provides access to information, databases, news, and more.