Internet Resources by Subject: History - General

"Best of History Web Sites, created by EdTechTeacher, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more."

A part of the A&E television networks, this site provides information on History Channel programming. The site includes a "History of the World Timeline" and a "This Day in History/What Happened on Your Birthday" features. Historical video and audio clips are available, a discussion area, information for teachers, and weekly quizzes can also be found on the site.

This site is from the Institute of Historical Research. "Launched in 1996, this e-journal publishes reviews and reappraisals of significant work in all fields of historical interest." Reviews can be browsed by publication date (of review), title, author, reviewer, or subject. Often includes an author's response to the review.

Founded in 1884 "for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research." The site provides a variety of features of interest to historians, some of which may be limited to members. It also provides information on a variety of prizes, fellowships, and available research grants.

Contains collections for a number of Colleges and Universities as well as well as other institutions. Many of the collections are publicly accessible.

"Best of History Web Sites, created by EdTechTeacher, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more."

"...from 1989 to 2004, C-SPAN CEO Brian Lamb interviewed contemporary non-fiction authors for one hour, discussing their books, their research, and their lives. The resulting archive of 800 interviews is a valuable collection of late twentieth century American scholarship, capturing the intellectual work of some of the country's best non-fiction writers, as well as the biographies and memoirs of notable contemporary political figures." Read transcripts, search by keyword, watch videos, and download audio.

A place for citizen participation in the government's archives. There are various opportunities such as transcribing, editing, and tagging.

"...In these lively and unedited video interviews, distinguished men and women from all over the world talk about their lives and their work. Guests include diplomats, statesmen, and soldiers; economists and political analysts; scientists and historians; writers and foreign correspondents; activists and artists. The interviews span the globe and include discussion of political, economic, military, legal, cultural, and social issues shaping our world. At the heart of each interview is a focus on individuals and ideas that make a difference.Conversations with History is broadcast nationally on UCTV, and can be downloaded on YouTube, iTunes, and by Podcast at UCTV's website.Conversations with History is made possible by support from the Library of Congress and the National Science Foundation, from UCTV, and from UC Berkeley's Office of the Chancellor, the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research, the Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation, the Charles and Louise Travers Department of Political Science, the Center for Middle Eastern Studies, the Institute of Governmental Studies, and by the Ford endowment at the Institute of International Studies." Provided by the University of California, Berkeley

Create of customized page of what was happening on a particular date in history. Create a quick page or use the Advanced Page to select the infromation you wish to include. Available data begins in 1800, but is "spotty" for 1800-1875.

Designed to present history "through the eyes of those who lived it." The site is provided by Ibis Communications, Inc. (http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/ibis.htm), a publisher of educational programming. Browse the site by category to find information. The site also includes some audio recordings designed to be listened to using RealPlayer. There is an index of the site and it can also be searched.

"... collection of original essays, trial transcripts and exhibits, maps, images, and other materials relating to the greatest trials in world history."

Register for free basic access to historic documents. Some documents require a premium access membership. Free items include U.S. Milestone Documents, UFO reports, papers of the Continental Congress, etc.

Library of Congress resources that focus on world history and culture.

A part of the A&E television networks, this site provides information on History Channel programming. The site includes a "History of the World Timeline" and a "This Day in History/What Happened on Your Birthday" features. Historical video and audio clips are available, a discussion area, information for teachers, and weekly quizzes can also be found on the site.

Part of the University of London's School of Advanced Study, the Institute contains a vast number of resources for scholars of history. In addition to the resources available, the Institute administers research projects, conferences, and training programs, as well as offering research fellowships and other awards. Note: Some information may be restricted to use by members.

This site contains a variety of collections including full text books, movies, and audio, software, and educational resources in addition to the WayBack Machine.

"... a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses."

"... holds the largest maritime history collection in the Western Hemisphere." The collection includes over 1,750,000 items ranging from books and magazines, to rare materials, vessel plans, and photographs. The website provides access to the Library's online catalog and finding aids. An image database is also available for searching.

"The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities." Users can search for videos or browse by a number of categories: Genre, Duration, Color, Sound, or Collections. Information is provided about the video along with a link to download it. Videos may require browser plug-ins for viewing.

Free ebooks in a variety of formats available for download. The focus is on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

This site is from the Institute of Historical Research. "Launched in 1996, this e-journal publishes reviews and reappraisals of significant work in all fields of historical interest." Reviews can be browsed by publication date (of review), title, author, reviewer, or subject. Often includes an author's response to the review.

"...promotes the understanding and continuity of diverse contemporary grassroots cultures in the United States and abroad." The Center sponsors an annual Folklife Festival, produces documentary films, and educational materials. It also has a documentary collection of expressive culture in the Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections." Fellowships, internships, and training opportunities are available.