Internet Resources by Subject: Nutrition

"... provides easy access to the best food and nutrition information from across the federal government and educational institutions. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers, educators and health professionals." The site can be searched. Or use one of the available browse features to locate information: browse by subject or browse by audience (children, caregivers, teachers, parents, health care workers, researchers, consumers.)

Use this website to locate nutritious and delicious recipes from the American Heart Association.

"is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries." The site is managed by librarians and scientists.

The United States Food and Drug Administration is part of the Department of Health and Human Services. The FDA is responsible for the safety, wholesomeness and sanitary conditions for nation's food supply. In addition it approves the supply of veterinary and human drugs, biological products and medical devices to ensure that they are safe and effective. The FDA is also responsible for the safety of cosmetics and electronic products that emit radiation. The website has a site map, an A to Z index and also a keyword search. Users can find information about all the areas handled by the FDA, find information on current hot topics, and FDA activities. Information is available for consumers, patients, health professionals and educators, the Press and more. The site also provides access to a number of manuals and publications.

U.S. Department of Agriculture website contains information related to the various food & nutrition programs available.

This site is described as the "gateway to government food safety information." Consumers can find information to address concerns that they may have about the safety of foods. It includes information on reporting illnesses and complaining about products. The site has a search feature and also a site index.

"... provides easy access to the best food and nutrition information from across the federal government and educational institutions. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers, educators and health professionals." The site can be searched. Or use one of the available browse features to locate information: browse by subject or browse by audience (children, caregivers, teachers, parents, health care workers, researchers, consumers.)

This office of the NIH was created to explore the role of dietary supplements in U.S. health care, promote, conduct, and coordinate the research and study of supplements, and compile the results of the studies. The site provides access to information, databases, news, and more.

"The Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is pleased to announce that a new PubMed® subset, "Dietary Supplements," is now available. It succeeds the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database which was a collaboration between the ODS and the U.S. Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library.

The Dietary Supplement subset is a joint project between the NIH National Library of Medicine (NLM®) and ODS. This subset was created using a search strategy including terms provided by ODS, and selected journals indexed for MEDLINE® that include significant dietary supplement-related content."