Internet Resources by Subject: Business - General

A federal government site that provides "a one-stop shop for everything related to business in the USA"

The Federal Reserve or the Fed is the central bank of the U.S. The website provides information about the background and development of the Federal Reserve. It also provides access to a variety of statistical information and publications . It provides both current and historical data. Access surveys, studies, etc. as well as the Federal Reserve Bulletin. Also available are educational materials, consumer information, and information on career opportunities.

Access information on the Commonwealth's website related to starting and running a business in Virginia.

"PublicRegisterOnline.com is a FREE internet service. Registration is required so we may notify companies of your interest. Companies may choose to send you future correspondence. Your personal information is not distributed to any other party. Please read our privacy policy.
Create a user profile to view over 5,000 online annual reports or 10-K presentations."

A service provided by MarketWatch, Inc., BigCharts is a business website that provides access to research tools such as interactive charts, stock quotes, historical stock quotes, etc. Some of the historical quotes are available back to 1985.

"...promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner." Use the site to find economic indicators such as Gross Domestic Product, Gross State Product, Balance of Payments, etc.

Provides information on starting and running a business in Virginia. Covers items such as start-up basics, permits, building code, taxes and more.

"...is a nonprofit, nonpartisan educational organization whose vision is a world where individuals and organizations act with integrity." Includes resources such as articles, books, speeches, links etc. about ethics, business and organizational ethics, character development, global ethics, and integrity.

The Federal Reserve or the Fed is the central bank of the U.S. The website provides information about the background and development of the Federal Reserve. It also provides access to a variety of statistical information and publications . It provides both current and historical data. Access surveys, studies, etc. as well as the Federal Reserve Bulletin. Also available are educational materials, consumer information, and information on career opportunities.

This site from the Federal Reserve provides educational resources about the Federal Reserve, economics, and financial education. Available information includes publications, videos, online learning, and other related websites.

"KJE Computer Solutions, LLC's information and interactive calculators are made available to you as self-help tools for your independent use and are not intended to provide investment advice." Calculators cover topics such as: mortgage, retirement, loans, debt, etc.

"The industry resources section is a directory of resources for a wide variety of industries and addresses subjects such as industry overview, issues, trends, and outlook, financial benchmarking, and compensation surveys." It covers 250 industries and they can be accessed by SIC codes and categories.

The Internal Revenue Service has downloadable tax forms as well as other tax information available on the website.

Free registration provides access to information such as basic credit rating information. Moody's is a well respected company that provides access to this type of business data.

The Small Business Administration website.

This Sears website provides access to information from the company archive dating back to 1886.

A federal government site that provides "a one-stop shop for everything related to business in the USA"

"Thomas believes in the power of industry, and we are uniquely capable of helping to fuel its success. For 120 years we have served the needs of B2B buyers. In doing so, we support the industrial supplier that needs to reach, engage, and sell to them.

With the legacy of our Thomas Register at our back, today’s Thomas is a data, platform, and technology company that has become the leading resource for the industrial marketplace."

"The primary mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is to protect investors and maintain the integrity of the securities markets." The website provides access investor information, news, litigation and other information. Also provides access to the EDGAR database where users have free access to filings made to the SEC from companies, both foreign and domestic.