Internet Resources by Subject: World Lit

Provides information about Japanese literature and Japanese authors.

Also available in Spanish
The Cervantes Project is housed at Texas A&M University and is a collaboration of TAMU Department of Hispanic Studies,
Center for the Study of Digital Libraries (CSDL) (part of the TAMU Engineering Program), and Dr. Fred Jehle of Indiana-Purdue University. The Project includes the following:

Cervantes International Bibliography Online (CIBO) - "a comprehensive bibliography of studies, editions, and translations of Cervantes's works."
Cervantes Digital Library (CDL) - "contains several electronic editions of Cervantes's complete works, including flexible interfaces and search engines with multiple options for searching and displaying results. Copies of his comedies, plays, and other related works are located in the CDL. "
Cervantes Digital Archive of Images (CDAI) - "aims to develop a digital archive of photographic images on Cervantes's times and works suitable for teaching and research purposes."

"... contains up-to-date profiles of many of the UK and Commonwealth's most important living writers. Also included are writers from the Republic of Ireland that the British Council has worked with. "

Provides information about Japanese literature and Japanese authors.

Free ebooks in a variety of formats available for download. The focus is on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

Examine every page of rare historic works; compare different editions side-by-side; choose standard or magnified view; read supporting material by our curators and other experts.
Shakespeare in Quarto
Caxton's Chaucer
Gutenberg Bible
Magna Carta
Renaissance Festival Books
Sample: Malory's Arthurian manuscript

"The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century." Works "include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama." The site can be searched. Users can also select works alphabetically by the author's last name.

"The Walter Scott Digital Archive is an Edinburgh University Library online resource created in the Special Collections Division." The site includes a biography of Scott, information on his works with links to electronic versions if available, and an annotated bibliography of material published on Scott since January of 2000. In addition the site includes images, portraits, correspondence, and other Scott related resources.