"The diaries begin on January 1, 1830, continuing with regular entries until April 2, 1843, documenting the life of a young Vermont farm laborer in Royalton, Vermont. In his diaries, Williams reports on his daily chores, his attendance at singing and spelling schools, his participation in militia, and his religious and social life." Vermont Historical Society
"The Green Mountain Chronicles is a series of 52 five-minute radio programs created by the Vermont Historical Society between 1987 and 1988. They were broadcast by commercial and public radio stations throughout the state in late 1988 and early 1989. The radio series tells the history of Vermont in the twentieth century using archival sound recordings and oral history interviews."
"This collection consists of letters exchanged by James Hope (1819-1892) of Castleton, Vermont, a portrait painter and landscapist, and his wife Julia, between 1854 and 1874." Vermont Historical Society
"... a transcription of a journal and scrapbook of a 12-day road trip taken by
two young women from Reading, Massachusetts, to Vermont sometime around 1930.
The journal was created by Doris Ward’s unnamed travelling companion and given to
Doris as a memento of the trip. This transcription was created by volunteers at the
Vermont Historical Society, especially Edith Harding and Liz Gilligan, in 2011." Vermont Historical Society
"The Center for Digital Initiatives makes unique research collections available online." Collections include: Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera, Congressional Speeches, Louis L. McAllister Photographs, Photographs of Vergennes (Vt.) and many more.
"The Vermont Digital Newspaper Project is committed to providing free online access to historic Vermont newspapers published between 1836 to 1922, as part of a nationwide newspaper digitization effort."
"The Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera Collection contains items from the Wilbur Collection of Vermontiana that were printed and circulated from 1861 to 1865. Most of the items are related to the war, while a small number are related to Vermont’s efforts to organize and train the state militia after the war. The collection features proclamations, orders and announcements about the state’s military operations, including recruitment, enrollment, supplies, and equipment; relief efforts; the end of the war; and President Lincoln’s death. One of the most unusual items is a broadside alerting the public to the theft of U.S. Treasury notes and bonds stolen from a St. Albans, Vermont bank by Confederate raiders in October 1864. "
"The Vermont Folkife Center (VFC) Digital Archive is the online access point for research collections from the VFC Archive. The collections include digitized audio, video, images and manuscript materials from the VFC Archive, as well as born-digital field research materials generated by VFC staff and donors."
Book Sources: Vermont
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.