"Digital collections and projects feature unique, primary-source materials for teaching, research, and discovery drawn from the Penn Libraries' signature collections or from our collaborations with the Penn community and with cultural heritage institutions. It provides access to important rare books, manuscripts, photographs and multimedia sources represented by images, texts, audio files, bibliographic databases, catalogs, and archival finding aids for the study of a wide array of subjects ranging from Philadelphia neighborhoods and the life of Marian Anderson to medieval manuscripts and Shakespeare's plays. In addition, this site gathers together Penn Libraries' pre-1923 materials publicly available through the Internet Archive as well as Penn-produced scholarship accessible in the ScholarlyCommons."
"GettDigital is an online portal to the digital collections created by Special Collections & College Archives and offered through CONTENTdm. These digital primary sources include a wide variety of material types and subjects including College Photographs, the Civil War Era, World War I, World War II, the Vietnam War, Eisenhower, and rare book bindings. As of 2019, we offer 36 GettDigital Collections with over 71,000 digital learning objects."
"The Keystone Library Network (KLN) Digital Collections provide access to online repositories of digital objects made available by participating KLN libraries. The KLN consists of the 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) and other affiliated libraries which reside in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania."
"The University Libraries' Digitized Collections, close to 100 in all, cover a wide range of subject areas, including agriculture, the Civil War era, geology and geography of Pennsylvania, labor history, Pennsylvania history, Penn State history, and political protest. Many of these collections were digitized from holdings in the Special Collections Library."
"Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection contain all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War. Newspapers played a prominent role in the conflict. They helped mobilize public opinion for, or against, the war, relayed battlefield developments to their readers, and documented political life on the homefront. Beyond military or political concerns there is much on cultural topics including travel, arts and leisure, sports and contests, and local social events."
"Our Digital Collections site offers free worldwide access to the unique primary historical and cultural resources held by the Temple University Libraries and to selected scholarly works and other publications produced at Temple."
"The ULS has digitized over 115,000 unique objects (resulting in over two million digital pages and images!) from several special collecting units, including the Archives & Special Collections and Center for American Music as well as several Pitt Faculty members and regional partner institutions. Note that guides (i.e., finding aids) to our archives and manuscript collections are included here too"
Book Sources: Pennsylvania
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.
secretary of the province of Pennsylvanis, and others, 1700-1750. From the original letters in possession of the Logan family. With notes by Deborah Logan. Ed. with additional notes by Edward Armstrong.
passed between the years 1682 and 1700, preceded by Duke of York's laws in force from the year 1676 to the year 1682, with an Appendix containing laws relating to the organization of the provincial courts and historical matter
Search for More
Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.
Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)
Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.