"When the Hawaiian islands were formally annexed by the United States in 1898, the event marked the end of a lengthy internal struggle between native Hawaiians and non-native American businessmen for control of the Hawaiian government. The previous year, an annexation treaty was blocked when the newly-formed Hawaiian Patriotic League, composed of native Hawaiians, successfully petitioned the U.S. Congress to oppose it."
"Affairs in Hawaii, also known as the Blount Report, is a collection of documents relating to the history of Hawaii, focusing on events leading up to the overthrow of the Hawaiian monarch. The United States recognized Hawaii as an independent kingdom in 1842. In 1845, Hawaii changed its traditional system of land tenure in a way that permitted non-Hawaiians to buy property. By the 1890s foreigners owned 90 percent of the land. In January 1893, after Queen Liliuokalani (1838--1917) proposed a constitution reinstating power stripped from the monarchy by the "Bayonet Constitution" of 1887, U.S. and European residents moved against the queen and planned to have the islands annexed by the United States. Aided by a detachment of U.S. Marines, the so-called "Committee of Safety" led the overthrow of the monarchy. The conspirators hoped to finalize the annexation during the presidency of Benjamin Harrison, before a new president took office, but they were thwarted by the Senate's delay in ratifying the annexation. Upon taking office on March 4, President Grover Cleveland, who was skeptical about acquiring Hawaii, commissioned James H. Blount (1837--1903) to investigate the overthrow of the monarchy. Blount's report, issued in July 1893, concluded that U.S. military and diplomatic personnel had overstepped their authority. The queen was not reinstated, but the annexation did not proceed. The report includes more than 1,000 pages of documents covering events in Hawaii and in U.S.--Hawaii relations going back to the 1840s, with particular emphasis on 1893-95. Hawaii later became a territory of the United States, under a resolution passed by both houses of Congress and signed by President William McKinley on July 7, 1898."
The Hawaii War Records Depository (HWRD), which was established at the University of Hawaii Library in 1943, is an extensive collection of materials that document life in Hawaii during World War II. Digitized photographs from this collection are now accessible online.
"South Seas offers the full text of the holograph manuscript of James Cook’s Endeavour Journal held by the National Library of Australia, together with the full texts of the journals kept by Joseph Banks and Sydney Parkinson on the voyage. You will also find the text of all three volumes of John Hawkesworth’s Account of the Voyages undertaken...in the Southern Hemisphere...(1773). Volumes two and three of this work are an account of the Endeavour voyage fashioned by Hawkesworth from Cook's and Banks's journals."
"The Digital Collections at the University of Hawai’i at Manoa Library include historical and cultural material that has been scanned and made available online. Some projects were funded in part or in full by grants. Grant applications, reports, and web statistics related to specific digital imaging projects are available. Many other projects were started and/or completed by the efforts of students working in Library and Information Studies Program Internships. These collections feature scanned material from the Archives and Manuscript Collections, the Asia Collection, art works from the Jean Charlot Collection, resources related to Hawai’i and Pacific culture and history, and material from the Rare Collection."
Book Sources: Hawaii
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.