Primary Sources: U.S. States: New Jersey

An interview provided by the PBS show Boomtime
Post-war prosperity transforms lifestyles and cultural values in the United States and abroad
(Original broadcast: Monday, June 14, 1999 at 9pm)

"The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. "

"The State Archives is New Jersey's official research center for public records of enduring historical value. Considering that many vital records, land documents, probate records and military service papers were filed centrally by the Colony and State of New Jersey, the State Archives is a treasure trove for genealogists and historians."

The digital collections available from Princeton University include collections such as: Block Prints of the Chinese Revolution, Historical Photograph Collection, Japanese and Chinese Prints and Drawings, Latin American Posters Collection, Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts, etc.

Rutgers University alumni and/or New Jersey residents who served on the home front and overseas during World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War and the Cold War

Material currently available includes records and photographs from the Borough of Roosevelt, originally known as New Jersey Homesteads, a planned community created by the Federal Government under the President Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal initiative, and the papers of Peter Still, a slave who managed to buy his own freedom, and subsequently that of his wife and family.

Also included are photographs from the William Elliot Griffis Collection. Griffis, a graduate of the Rutgers Class of 1869, wrote extensively on Japan and was instrumental in interpreting Japanese culture to the West. He also served as a mentor to the earliest Japanese students at Rutgers.

Nearly 700 maps and aerial views from our extensive collection are also included in RUCore, as well as English ballads from the 1700s, and New Jersey Broadsides from the mid-to-late 1800s.