Primary Sources: U.S. States: Louisiana

"The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. "

"The Louisiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of more than 144,000 digital items from Louisiana archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories, making unique historical treasure accessible to students, researchers, and the general public in Louisiana and across the globe. The items in the Louisiana Digital Library are as diverse and interesting as the people and places in Louisiana, with photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more documenting the state’s history and culture."

9 broadsides

"The Louisiana Sea Grant Digital Maps Collection, contains USGS maps and other maps of Louisiana. This project was a collaboration between Louisiana Sea Grant and the LSU Libraries."LOUISiana Digital Library

"The Louisiana Sheet Music Collection is comprised of sheet music published in, or with topical relevance to, Louisiana (with an emphasis on New Orleans). Many important local composers are represented, including Basile Bares, Eugene Chassaignac, Edouard Dejan and Louis Moreau Gottschalk as well as several interesting, but lesser known, nineteenth-century composers. The collection covers 100 years in the history of local publishing (1838-1938) and represents a wide range of styles of popular and vernacular music, including Creole songs, nineteenth-century dance music, Confederate anthems, Mexican and Cuban danzas and danzon, ragtime, blues, and jazz . "

""The Louisiana State Museum's cartographic holdings, comprised of original works as well as photographic and facsimile reproductions, are dated 1525 to the present." LOUISiana Digital Library

"At the core of the Louisiana State Museum's Music Collection is its internationally known Jazz Collection, the largest and most comprehensive of its kind in the world. The Jazz Collection chronicles the music and careers of the men and women who created, enhanced and continue in the tradition of New Orleans jazz at the local, national and international levels. It consists of instruments, pictorial sheet music, photographs, records, tapes, manuscripts and other items ranging from Louis Armstrong's first cornet to a 1917 disc of the first jazz recording ever made. It includes the world's largest collection of instruments owned and played by important figures in jazz- trumpets, cornets, trombones, clarinets and saxophones played by jazz greats such as Bix Beiderbecke, Edward "Kid" Ory, George Lewis, Sidney Bechet and Dizzy Gillespie." Some materials are available online

"The mission of Tulane University Digital Library (TUDL), a project of Howard-Tilton Memorial Library, is the production and delivery of digitized and native digital holdings that support the teaching, research and public service goals of the University. The online communities of scholars, students and the public have access to the rare and unique collections in areas such as Latin American studies, jazz, New Orleans and Louisiana history and architecture as well as Tulane University Archives."