Primary Sources: The American South: Food

"The interviews in this collection are part of a multi-year oral history effort titled: Gathering the Stories of Appalachian Foodways: an Oral History Project. The project’s purposes were to: learn about Appalachian foodways; gain insight and understanding in how Appalachian foodways have changed overtime; and, collect stories so that they can be studied in order to preserve the history of Appalachia. Berea student researchers conducted interviews in 2012, 2014, 2015, and 2016 under the guidance of Dr. Margaret Dotson of the Berea College Child and Family Studies program. The 2012 interviews were conducted by Katie Bills and Chelsea Bicknell supported respectively by the Appalachian College Association's Colonel Lee B. Ledford Scholarship and a Berea College Undergraduate Research grant. Transcribers included Stephany Hernandez and Patricia Ann Watson as well as Katie Bills and Chelsea Bicknell. The 2014 interviews were conducted by Barbara Hollstein supported by a Berea College Undergraduate Research grant. The 2015 Interviews were conducted by Timothy Jordan Kelley supported by the Appalachian College Association's Colonel Lee B. Ledford Scholarship. The 2016 Interviews were conducted by Julie Nelms supported by the Appalachian College Association's Colonel Lee B. Ledford Scholarship"

"These images document the disappearance of food and beverage items by photographing trays before and after schoolchildren ate lunch. The images were taken in North Texas during lunchtime in urban middle schools that participated in the National School Lunch and School Breakfast Programs."

Dickens produced various publications related to studies of food, farm and agriculture in the south, mostly Mississippi, for the Mississippi State University Agricultural Experiment Station.

"Andy Huse, assistant librarian in USF Libraries' Special Collections, interviews diverse restaurateurs, many of whom are immigrants. The participants outline their unlikely paths to restaurant ownership in the United States, and how the cultures of their homelands influenced their cuisine and business practices and enhanced the flavor of the community."

"This artificial online collection includes food and cooking related materials from the collections of the State Archives of North Carolina. It is intended to offer an overview of available materials in our collections and is not an exhaustive survey of all food and cooking items. The collection was begun as part of the 2013 North Carolina Archives Week celebration; the theme for 2013 was “Home Grown! A Celebration of N.C. Food Culture and History.”"

"A passionate gourmet, Jefferson acquired a stock of standard French recipes for sauces, fruit tarts, French-fried potatoes, blood sausages, pigs’ feet, rabbit, pigeons, and various other dishes. Among the most popular of these recipes at Monticello was this one for vanilla ice cream—written by Jefferson, with his own recipe for Savoy cookies to accompany the dessert on the back."

"The SFA oral history program documents life stories from the American South. Collecting these stories, we honor the people whose labor defines the region."

"The South Carolina Historical Cookbooks collection consists of publications from 1832 to 1921. Many of these “receipt” books provide insight into 19th-century and early 20th-century South Carolina foodways. Geographically, the collection covers many parts of the state, including Kingstree (Kingstree Cook Book 1921), Spartanburg (Spartanburg Cook Book 1917), Sumter (Best War Recipes 1917), and, of course, Charleston. A range of food recipes, as well as other topics and interests, also exists in the collection. Along with recipes such as Pickled Oysters, Rice Cake, Ginger Cake, Republican Cake, Washington Cake, earlier cookbooks also offer home-spun medical and economic advice."