Primary Sources: The American South: Education

An act prohibiting white persons from
teaching Negroes in Negro schools, and prohibiting Negro teachers from teaching white children in white schools in the State of Florida ...
children in white schools in the State o f
Florida, and p r o v i d i n g f o r the penalty
therefor.
Be it e

"The collection includes two engagement books that document the daily activities of this coed, providing an interesting view of college life and dating culture in the early twentieth century. Short entries show that Cunningham was an active young woman who dated often while living at home with her parents. She described a variety of activities including studying, attending sorority and fraternity and other school functions, going to see movies, and dating. Some entries reveal that the popular Miss Cunningham often had dates with several eligible young men in a single day, enjoying respectable outings such as church, bridge gatherings, the picture show, and chaperoned dances. She later married Merrill Smith, one of the young men discussed in these diaries."

"DOVE - Desegregation of Virginia Education - was created to find, catalog, and encourage the preservation of records that tell the story of Virginia's school desegregation process. Hosted by Old Dominion University Libraries, DOVE is a collaboration of universities, libraries, and community groups."

"The entries within discuss her life at the school, including the classes, teachers, and curriculum. She also records her interactions with former slaves, where these individuals invited her into their homes and community; and her opinions on the politics of the time. Cutter also recorded entries while traveling by train from Tennessee to her family home in New Hampshire during a couple of summer vacations, making stops in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Haddonfield, New Jersey; and Boston, Massachusetts. There are detailed notes on the Centennial Exhibition in Philadelphia, which she visited in 1877 on one of her returning trips to Tennessee. At one point, she also took a trip to Quebec, Canada."

"The thirty-six interviewees in this collection describe community, family, educational experiences, and race relations in Winnsboro, Ridgeway, Simpson and surrounding areas of Fairfield County, South Carolina"

Governor Wallace read this proclamation when he first stood in the door-way to block the attempt of two black students, Vivian Malone and James Hood, to register at the University of Alabama. June 11, 1963

"... is a collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. It includes several thousand scanned pages and represents HBCU libraries first collaborative effort to make a historic collection digitially available. Collections are contributed from member libraries of the Historically Black College and University Library Alliance. "

"In January 1961, James Howard Meredith applied for admission to the University of Mississippi, receiving a letter of rejection on 25 May 1961. Following eighteen months of legal battles, the United States Supreme Court ruled in favor of Meredith on 10 September 1962, permitting his admission. Throughout September, Governor Ross Barnett attempted to prevent his enrollment. On 30 September 1962, Meredith arrived at the University of Mississippi campus to enroll. A riot erupted on the night of Meredith's arrival during which a white crowd attacked United States Marshals sent to protect Meredith; the arrival of federal troops ended the violence in the early hours of 1 October 1962; two bystanders were killed, 206 marshals and soldiers were wounded and 200 people were arrested during the riot. Meredith officially registered for classes in October 1962 becoming the first African-American student at the University of Mississippi."

"The Mississippi Education Collection contains articles, newsletters, and miscellaneous documents related to education in Mississippi. Items were created between 1924 and 2000. The collection has been digitized in its entirety."

"...is the body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. It serves as the common denominator of shared values and practices primarily among the diverse institutions in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Latin America and certain other international sites approved by the SACSCOC Board of Trustees that award associate, baccalaureate, master’s, or doctoral degrees. The Commission also accepts applications for membership from domestic institutions in the other 39 states, as well as international institutions of higher education around the world."

Contains a variety of materials related to the history of the college.

The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) at "Swem Library connects students, faculty, and researchers with rare and unique materials, including:
original manuscripts, photographs, rare books, maps
audiovisual media, and more"

"Thirty-five oral history interviews with former students and teachers who recall their experiences during the high school’s operating years (1932-1966) on the campus of the University of South Carolina"

Exhibit by the Library of Virginia on Virginia's response to the Supreme Court's Brown v. Board of Education decision. The site includes documents from the LVA