Primary Sources: The American South: Texas

"... the official Spanish documents that preserve the political, military, economic, and social life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahulia y Texas. Both in their volume and breadth of subject matter, the Bexar Archives are the single most important source for the history of Hispanic Texas up to 1836."

"Between October 1835 and April 1836, a group of mostly American-born residents of the Mexican province of Texas rebelled against the government of Mexico and ultimately declared Texas to be an independent republic. As Texian discontent and rebellion took root in the fall of 1835, Mexico’s experienced military commander, Antonio López de Santa Anna, led a Mexican army of several thousand troops to Texas to quell the resistance. In a series of minor battles and standoffs, a relatively small band of several hundred Texian militia members took on segments of the Mexican army, with little military success. In February of 1836, as the Mexican army approached, the Texian militia took over the Alamo, an abandoned Spanish mission in present-day San Antonio, where they defended themselves against the army’s siege. Ultimately, the vastly outnumbered Texians were defeated and nearly everyone inside the Alamo was killed. "

" The version that follows is the one that appeared in the San Antonio Daily Express. It is as worm eaten as Nufiez claimed Travis's jacket to be. By exposing the account to critical examination the editor hopes that future Alamo scholars will avoid past errors and present a more accu rate picture of a shining moment in Texas history-one that has no need of distortion to add to its luster."

Digital Collections available from the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin. Collections cover a wide range of topics from Medieval & Early Modern Manuscripts to interviews done by Mike Wallace.

A collection from the Texas State Library & Archives regarding Indians in Texas; provides access to a small selection of primary resource materials.

"The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. "

"In the late 1960s to early 1970s, Gen. Jay A. Matthews compiled and transcribed all known orders, letters, and reports of the Texas Revolution. Texas bookman and publisher John H. Jenkins annotated the compilation. It was published by Matthews’s Presidial Press in 1973 and remains the most comprehensive reference work on the Revolution fifty years later."

"The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections." Hosted by The University of North Texas Libraries

A resource on the Texas Rangers and outlaws of Texas with a small selection of primary documents.

Part of The Portal to Texas History

"... a dozen selected documents that showcase the people and events of the Texas Revolution."

Access digital collections on a wide variety of topics such as:
Cushing Historical Images Collection; Hereld Fanzine Collection; Historical Maps of Cuba; Texas A&M University Newspaper Collection; Wheelan Collection; World War I Postcards; etc.

"Between the years of 1824 and 1876, Texas was at times a part of the United States of Mexico, an independent republic, a state within the Confederate States of America, and a state within the United States of America. Beginning in 1824, what we now know as Texas passed through many iterations—each with founding documents that can be accessed on this site. These founding documents legally established the entity of Texas, set forth the rights and responsibilities of its people, and defined the scope and powers of its government."

A project of the Tarlton Law Library, Jamail Center for Legal Research at the University of Texas School of Law, The University of Texas at Austin.

"The Texas Digital Newspaper Program has digitized and preserved newspapers from over seventy Texas counties, ranging in date from 1829 to 2012."

Provides online access to a variety of exhibits and collections related to Texas history. Examples include: Civilian Conservation Corps Drawing (1933-1958); Historical Map Collection; Voices of Texas History; etc.

Collections include: Alumni Association - Texas TechsanBook CollectionDigital Dickens - All the Year RoundDyal Ship CollectioneBook DonationsFunctionalism in American PsychologyHistorians of the Frontier West CollectionHistory of Texas CollectionLa VentanaLubbock Area Maps & ManuscriptsLubbock City Planning Materials CollectionMatthew Arnold CollectionPrigmore Book CollectionPrigmore Family History CollectionRare Books & Materials CollectionRussian Books & JournalsSociological Theory CollectionTexas Soil SurveysTTU Historical Cookbooks

Provides links to primary sources available from the Library of Congress related to the Alamo.

"... makes available digital collections of materials documenting the University of Houston, city of Houston, and state of Texas, as well as other historically and culturally significant materials. "

"We provide public access to the unique historical and cultural resources held by UTSA Special Collections. These materials represent a selection of our growing collection of photographs, archival documents, oral histories, rare books, and University Archives."

A digital collection provided by Angelo State University.

"... described a complex pattern of ethnic conflict along the border in 1875 in his A Texas Ranger."