Primary Sources: The American South: North Carolina

"The Civil War digital collection is a joint project of the State Archives and State Library of North Carolina. This digital collection was created as part of the 2011-2015 Department of Natural and Cultural Resources commemoration of the American Civil War Sesquicentennial. The themes of the commemoration were Freedom, Sacrifice, and Memory, and were intended to encompass a wide range of topics and points of view. The digital collections includes letters, diaries, newspaper articles, reminiscences, troop histories, state agency records, maps, rosters, books, and other materials related to North Carolina's Civil War history. Some items were selected to support the Civil War 150 blog maintained by the staff of the State Archives. While many materials have been made available through this digital collection, the online materials are still a small sample of what is available for research from the contributing institutions."

""The Colonial and State Records of North Carolina" digital collection will present the entire original publication, including the index. Its mission is to continue the legacy of an earlier generation's extensive scholarship, improve it with this generation's technology, and empower today's and tomorrow's users by offering easier, more efficient, and more flexible access to thousands of unique documents. Our readers will be able to browse the volumes, consult the index, search the full text, or conduct advanced searches. This project has been made possible by a Library Services and Technology Act grant distributed through the State Library of North Carolina. "

Covers themes such as: ECU History, African American History, Women's History, Wars and more.

"The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. "

Online collections provided by the North Carolina State Archives

"... a comprehensive, online collection of historic maps of the Tar Heel State. Featuring maps from three of the state's largest map collections -- the North Carolina State Archives, the North Carolina Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill, and the Outer Banks History Center -- North Carolina Maps provides an unprecedented level of access to these materials. North Carolina Maps contains more than 3,000 maps, ranging in date from the late 1500s to 2000, and including detailed maps for each of North Carolina's one hundred counties. "

"This collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina."

Provides online access to a variety of digital collections including: Civil Rights Greensboro, Digital Library of American Slavery, Women's Veterans Historical Collection, etc.

"The North Carolina Veterans Oral History Collection is composed of more than 1,100 interviews. Since 1996 the Military Collection at the State Archives of North Carolina has conducted them as part of the North Carolina Veterans Oral History Program. The purpose of the program is to document and provide access to the memories and experiences of military servicemen and servicewomen from the state of North Carolina, and preserve them for future scholarship. The interviews included in this online collection have been conducted since 2015, and are in audio format for streaming-only listening through the State Archives’ Internet Archive collection; links to these interviews are also provided through the North Carolina Digital Collections. Interviews will be made accessible through digital audio and text-based interview summaries over the coming years. Interviews are conducted by the Military Collection Archivist and program volunteers."