Primary Sources: The American South: Florida

"The Slave Societies Digital Archive (SSDA), directed by Jane Landers and hosted at Vanderbilt University, is dedicated to identifying, cataloging, and digitally preserving endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World."

"... provides online access to primary sources about the American Civil War from the collections of the Department of Special & Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Library, University of Florida. "

"...exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. All of the over 1,000,000 pages of historic through current Florida newspapers in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text. "

"Florida Memory presents a selection of historical records that illustrate significant moments in Florida history, educational resources for students of all ages and archival collections for historical research. "

"According to the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress, "These life histories were written by the staff of the Folklore Project of the Federal Writers' Project for the U.S. Works Progress (later Work Projects) Administration (WPA) from 1936-1940...the histories describe the informant's family education, income, occupation, political views, religion and mores, medical needs, diet and miscellaneous observations. Pseudonyms are often substituted for individuals and places named in the narrative texts." "

"The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. "

"... hosts more than 300 outstanding digital collections, containing over 7 million pages of unique manuscripts and letters, antique maps, rare children's literature books, theses and dissertations, newspapers, historic photographs, oral histories, and more. The University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC) enables users to find unique and rare digitized materials held at the University of Florida and partner institutions. "

"The University of Miami Libraries Digital Collections provide online access to primary source materials to support teaching, learning, and research at the University and worldwide.

Digital Collections features images, text, and audiovisual content from the University of Miami Libraries, including the Cuban Heritage Collection, Special Collections, University Archives, Architecture Research Center, Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Science Library, Martha and Austin Weeks Music Library, and the Louis Calder Memorial Library, as well as distinctive collections developed in collaboration with non-library partners.

University of Miami Digital Collections reflects a small portion of the Libraries’ distinctive materials. Please visit the University of Miami Archival Collections page and the University of Miami library catalog to learn more about all of the Libraries’ holdings."