Primary Sources: The American South: South Carolina

"Furman University's online digital collections contain an assortment of materials covering many subject areas, including medieval history, primary texts and manuscripts, works of art, and Furman's own rich history and sustainability efforts. " Some materials may be limited to use by Furman University faculty, staff and students.

"The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. "

"... brings together eyewitness views and accounts of this period of American history, selected from the rich holdings of University of South Carolina Libraries. Books, diaries, sheet music, maps, letters, photographs and illustrations all provide glimpses of everyday life during exceptional times. This collection provides students and other researchers with primary sources on the Confederate and Union soldiers, women, African Americans, and others who lived in camps and on battlefields, in urban and rural areas, at the homefront and on both sides of the blockade during our bloodiest conflict."

"... a collaborative effort that includes South Carolina’s schools, libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. SCDL’s mission is to encourage our collaborators to create, maintain, and promote digital collections that represent South Carolina's historical and cultural resources while following state-level guidelines that are based on national standards and best practices. "

ncludes: South Carolina Gazette, The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina, South Carolina Gazette & Country Journal, and the South Carolina & American General Gazette. Highlights on slavery and the slave trade, agriculture, plantation life, relations with Native Americans, immigration, indentured servitude, and outbreaks of disease. Also highlighted are notices of births, deaths, marriages, estate auctions, and advertisements, particularly those for runaway slaves.

"Consistent with the University Libraries’ mission to make collections accessible worldwide, the Digital Collections department scans rare, unique, and fragile items held by University Libraries and publishes them online for researchers on campus and around the world. Every effort is made to portray true color and likeness without any editing. All items are described, many can be downloaded, and all can be cited in your research. "

"The British faced the difficult task of fighting a war without pushing more colonists into the hands of the revolutionaries. As a result, the Revolutionary War included little direct attacks on civilians, but that does not mean that civilians did not suffer. The following account from Eliza Wilkinson describes the stress faced by non-combatants who had to face the British army."