"... produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. ...
ANES is a collaboration of Stanford University and the University of Michigan, with funding by the National Science Foundation."
"The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades."
"... ccess to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population. "
Must be on campus to create MyData account using your CNU email address!
Your MyData account is validated for off campus downloads for the next six months. Every time you log in to the ICPSR website from on campus, that is extended another six months.
"ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction... Are you interested in determining the average age at which men versus women begin smoking? What if you need to know whether age at marriage differs between your region of the country and other regions, or about differences in political attitudes based on age, gender, education, race, or ethnicity? These and countless other questions can be answered by studies in the ICPSR data holdings. Please note that ICPSR does not provide publications, reports, or ready-made statistics. What we do supply are the numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and figures. To view findings that others have published, select the "related literature" link for a given data set on the search results page or at the top of each study description. This will take you to a bibliography of publications based on that data, with links to online reports, when available." New users will need to create a MyData account to access features. CNU is an ICPSR Direct member institution and creating an account permits you to download data available only to ICPSR members.
Part of the UNC's Odum Institute Archive Dataverse - "The Odum Institute houses one of the oldest and largest catalogs of machine-readable data in the United States. The Data Archive has an extensive collection of U.S. Census data, including one of the most comprehensive holdings for 1970 Census files. It also contains data from the North Carolina State Data Center, National Center for Health Statistics and Harris Polls. Almost all of the data holdings are available online in the Odum Dataverse."