Available statistics include: U.S. Firearms Trace Data, International Fire Arms Trace Data, Annual Firearms Manufacturers And Export Report, Federal Firearms Licensee Statistics Theft / Loss Reports, etc.
"The BJS Mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded."
This site from the U.S. Department of Education's Office of PostSecondary Educations supplies statistics for "reported criminal offenses for over 6000 colleges and universities in the United States." Statistical information can be accessed by a variety of factors such as: geographic region, state, type of institution, name of institution, etc. In addition the site provides links to other campus security related sites.
"... maintains the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP) database, which contains information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system." The site allows users to "Query/search the database to find data about specific events and outcomes, such as the number of defendants prosecuted, convicted, and sentenced in a given year; Download Federal criminal justice datasets for more in-depth analysis; and view district statistics tables and graphs of selected statistics at the district level."
The Center looks at issues related to gun violence from the public health perspective. It is run by "a team of faculty, staff, and affiliated experts dedicated to preventing gun violence, injury, and death." The site provides access to some of the center's publications and surveys online, as well as links related to gun violence prevention.
"The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects to users for secondary statistical analysis." Most of the data collections on this site "are sponsored by federal government agencies and therefore are freely available to the public." Collections which are not freely available can be accessed by CNU students, faculty and staff through the ICPSR database.
"... is a private, non-profit organization. Since its inception in 1973, the Center has been a resource for independent and original research on topics related directly and indirectly to the field of juvenile justice. Although the Center is the research division of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, it has its own budget and is responsible for generating its own operating funds." Provides access to publications containing statistical information. Publications can be accessed alphabetically or by topic.
"... is the Nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 40,000 households comprising nearly 75,000 persons on the frequency, characteristics and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States. Each household is interviewed twice during the year. The survey enables BJS to estimate the likelihood of victimization by rape, sexual assault, robbery, assault, theft, household burglary, and motor vehicle theft for the population as a whole as well as for segments of the population such as women, the elderly, members of various racial groups, city dwellers, or other groups. The NCVS provides the largest national forum for victims to describe the impact of crime and characteristics of violent offenders."
"NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide." Publications can then be accessed by topic or view all the available publications sorted by title, date or document number.
"NIJ is the research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice and is dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues." Publications can be searched, many of the publications include statistical information.
enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system. Developed for OJJDP by the National Center for Juvenile Justice, SBB provides timely and reliable statistical answers to the most frequently asked questions from policymakers, the media, and the general public. In addition, the data analysis and dissemination tools available through SBB give users quick and easy access to detailed statistics on a variety of juvenile justice topics.
"The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."
Provided by the United Nations
statistical data collected by the FBI from U.S. law enforcement agencies; includes access to the annual publications: Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted
"The FBI has gathered crime statistics from law enforcement agencies across the Nation that voluntarily participate in the Uniform Crime Reporting(UCR) Program since 1930. These data have been published each year, and since 1958, have been available in the publication Crime in the United States (CIUS). As a supplement to CIUS, the FBI, in cooperation with the Bureau of Justice Statistics, provides this site that allows users to build their own customized data tables. "
"...is an independent research project located at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, Switzerland. It serves as the principal international source of public information on all aspects of small arms and armed violence and as a resource for governments, policy-makers, researchers, and activists."