"WONDER provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data." Information can be located by topic or through the A to Z Index. A search feature is available. In addition to statistical information access to reports, articles, and other documents is also available.
The statistical section of the website for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Provides data and statistics by topic. In addition it provides data access tools, surveys, publications and more.
Provides access to information "gathered through the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN), and share the results through this free online resource. " Includes National and state level data.
This site is funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research. The site provides access to chartbooks produced by InfoUse containing statistical information about disabilities. Books can be used online or downloaded in a .pdf version.
This site from Cornell University allows users to "access comprehensive, up-to-date U.S. disability statistics via graphs and charts, tables, and written descriptions." Users can register with the site for complete access to all tools and information or can login as a guest user without registering.
The ELDIS database, hosted by Institute of Development Studies in Sussex, was created as an information gateway for development issues. It has a variety of resources including summaries, links to online documents, a directory of websites, databases, library catalogs, country profiles, resource guides, and email discussion lists and news services. Quick access to resources is provided through the topically arrranged guides which cover subjects such as: ageing populations, education, conflict, poverty, etc. The site can also be searched.
EuroStat is "the Statistical Office of the European Communities, established in 1953. Our mission is to gather and analyse figures from the different European statistics offices in order to provide comparable and harmonised data to the European Institutions so they can define, implement and analyse Community policies." Data covers the European Union and its Member States and partners. The website is updated on a daily basis providing access to the latest available statistical information. Since October 1, 2004 EuroStat has been provideing "free of charge access to all its databases and electronic publications."
"... preserves and disseminates data collected by research projects funded by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States. A project of ICPSR, HMCA is supported by the Foundation." The site provides downloadable data files, related webisites, and related literature.
"The data sources presented here are primarily from government –sponsored surveys on health and the health care system. The data sources employ a wide range of methodologies and data collection practices as well as statistical software and are available in a variety of formats. We have provided basic summary information and links so that you can learn more about these data sources. To find out more details about analyzing these data sets, please contact the sponsoring organizations."
This area of the CDC website provides access the data collected by the National Center for Health Statistics. Considered the Nation's main health statistics agency, the NCHS is responsible for compiling statistical information in order to improve the health and well being of public. Additionally the NCHS site provides links to other sites for locating information regarding health topics, including other statistical data.
The March of Dimes organization aims to prevent birth defects and improve the health of babies. The PeriStats site from the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center "provides free access to US, state, city, and county maternal & infant health data." Users have the ability to create graphs or maps of data by State and indicator (maternal age, race, infant mortality rates, etc.) A Quick Facts and a State Summaries section are also available. Data is collected from multiple agencies.
Users can select a specific state to find out health information. Another option is to select a specific health topic. A search feature is provided. In addition the site has various tools available such as downloadable raw data and fact sheets.
The Quick Health Data Online database provides access to comparative county level data for "all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and possessions." Additionally the site provides links to aid in finding statistical information on a variety of health issues.
"... is an initiative of the Office of Applied Studies, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) of the United States Department of Health and Human Services. The goal of the archive is to provide ready access to substance abuse and mental health research data and to promote the sharing of these data among researchers, academics, policymakers, service providers, and others, thereby increasing the use of the data in understanding and assessing substance abuse and mental health problems and the impact of related treatment systems." The site provides the ability to locate and download data, conduct an online analysis, and locate publications. There is also a page of related websites available.
"The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."
Provided by the United Nations