"Find reports, databases, and other sources of statistics and demographic data on children and families in the United States, child abuse and neglect, child welfare services, children and youth in foster care, and domestic and international adoption."
"This web site offers easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment,and education." Provides the ability to compare U.S. Statistics with other countries. Links to additional related resources are also available.
Provides access to information "gathered through the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN), and share the results through this free online resource. " Includes National and state level data.
The ELDIS database, hosted by Institute of Development Studies in Sussex, was created as an information gateway for development issues. It has a variety of resources including summaries, links to online documents, a directory of websites, databases, library catalogs, country profiles, resource guides, and email discussion lists and news services. Quick access to resources is provided through the topically arrranged guides which cover subjects such as: ageing populations, education, conflict, poverty, etc. The site can also be searched.
"... one of the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children."
A division of the Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia University
"... is a private, non-profit organization. Since its inception in 1973, the Center has been a resource for independent and original research on topics related directly and indirectly to the field of juvenile justice. Although the Center is the research division of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, it has its own budget and is responsible for generating its own operating funds." Provides access to publications containing statistical information. Publications can be accessed alphabetically or by topic.
The March of Dimes organization aims to prevent birth defects and improve the health of babies. The PeriStats site from the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center "provides free access to US, state, city, and county maternal & infant health data." Users have the ability to create graphs or maps of data by State and indicator (maternal age, race, infant mortality rates, etc.) A Quick Facts and a State Summaries section are also available. Data is collected from multiple agencies.
enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system. Developed for OJJDP by the National Center for Juvenile Justice, SBB provides timely and reliable statistical answers to the most frequently asked questions from policymakers, the media, and the general public. In addition, the data analysis and dissemination tools available through SBB give users quick and easy access to detailed statistics on a variety of juvenile justice topics.