"The Census Bureau’s online tool for accessing a wide variety of population, economic, geographic, and housing information about the United States."
• Population Groups
• Industry Codes
"CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. With eye-catching graphics and exportable trend data, CensusScope is designed for both generalists and specialists." Find charts, maps, graphs, and more.
The FactBook is produced from information gathered for the Central Intelligence Agency. In it users will find information about countries of the world including background information, maps, geographical information, population information and more.
This site is funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research. The site provides access to chartbooks produced by InfoUse containing statistical information about disabilities. Books can be used online or downloaded in a .pdf version.
This site from Cornell University allows users to "access comprehensive, up-to-date U.S. disability statistics via graphs and charts, tables, and written descriptions." Users can register with the site for complete access to all tools and information or can login as a guest user without registering.
The ELDIS database, hosted by Institute of Development Studies in Sussex, was created as an information gateway for development issues. It has a variety of resources including summaries, links to online documents, a directory of websites, databases, library catalogs, country profiles, resource guides, and email discussion lists and news services. Quick access to resources is provided through the topically arrranged guides which cover subjects such as: ageing populations, education, conflict, poverty, etc. The site can also be searched.
EuroStat is "the Statistical Office of the European Communities, established in 1953. Our mission is to gather and analyse figures from the different European statistics offices in order to provide comparable and harmonised data to the European Institutions so they can define, implement and analyse Community policies." Data covers the European Union and its Member States and partners. The website is updated on a daily basis providing access to the latest available statistical information. Since October 1, 2004 EuroStat has been provideing "free of charge access to all its databases and electronic publications."
This database from the World Bank Group supplies "gender statistics and indicators designed with user-friendly, menu-driven features." Sources for the information in the database include national statistics, the United Nations, and World Bank conducted or funded surveys. Select a country and then select a category of statistical data.
"The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades."
"...offers a variety of demographic indicators for 224 countries and areas of the world. The IDB has provided access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public. It is funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the Census Bureau's International Programs Center."
Located within ICPSR and funded by the National Institute on Aging, the NACDA aims to "advance research on aging by helping researchers to profit from the under-exploited potential of a broad range of datasets." Download data sets, use the online data analysis system, and access publications and related site and literature information.
Established in August 2004 by the Pew Charitable Trusts. The Center conducts its work through six projects: Pew Research Center for the People and the Press, Stateline.org, Pew Internet & American Life Project, Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life, Pew Hispanic Center, and the Pew Global Attitudes Project. The Center is a non-partisan organization that produces independent research on important issues and trends. Topics include politics, religion, immigration, demography, etc.
"... presents most recent data on population size (total, male and female) from the latest available census of the population, national official population estimates and the number and rate (births, deaths and infant deaths) for the latest available year within the past 15 years. It also presents United Nations estimates of the mid-year population of the world, and its major areas and regions. "
The goal of the PRB is to provide "timely and objective information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications. PRB publishes the quarterly Population Bulletin, the annual World Population Data Sheet, and PRB Reports on America, as well as specialized publications covering population and public policy issues in the United States and abroad, particularly in developing countries." Many of these publications are provided online for free under the PRB Library. The Data Finder Database provides demographic characteristics for over 220 countries, 28 regions and sub regions, the world, the U.S. and U.S. states. Not all characteristics are available for all countries.
Located at the University of Michigan, the PSC has a "distinguished record in both domestic and international population research and training." Useful features of the site include the Data Archive, Publications, and the Library. The Data Archive "helps users determine the location and/or availability of data at PSC; provides links to data at other locations; helps users search for data at other sites; makes available a record of problems with data (i.e., errata files); answers common questions about specific files; and gives access to the archive community in general." The Publications area of the Center's site "makes working papers, research reports, and reprints authored by Center researchers accessible online. Many of these publications are available as downloadable files..." The Library also has "links to population, demographic, and reference resources on the Internet."
"... a collaboration between the Library and UC DATA on the University of California, Berkeley campus," providing access to important data resources for our user community including Census data and other materials.
"The Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) is a university-based organization that creates demographic media, such as user guides, web sites, and hands-on classroom computer materials that make U.S. census data accessible..." Resources include CencusScope.org and DataCounts!
Provides access to statistical information about Canada covering population, resources, economy, society and culture. Some information may require payment for access, however users can limit searches to free information only. Access is available in both English and French.
Access information collected by the Census Bureau. Provides access by category, a state and country quick facts, a search function, and a variety of tools for accessing the information including an alphabetical subject listing. Also provides access to a publciations area where users can retrieve .pdf versions of Census publications by topic.
"Census of Population and Housing data present here ranges from our most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical census information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical census records become available."
"Geography is central to the work of the Census Bureau, providing the framework for survey design, sample selection, data collection, tabulation, and dissemination. Geography provides meaning and context to statistical data.
Given the diversity of our population, our economic activities, and our geographic areas, use of the latest and best geographic methodologies is critical to the Census Bureau’s ability to serve as the leading provider of statistical and geospatial data. Our geographic area concepts, information, and statistical data must keep pace with the needs of the researchers and analysts who work to understand the changing distribution and characteristics of our people, places and economy."
"The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."
Provided by the United Nations
Popin is "a guide to population information on UN system web sites." Locate a variety of statistical data related to population. Also provides links to the various agencies who gather the data. Includes some full-text publications from the agencies as well.
The library does not have a subscription to the subscriber databases, however several useful databases are available for free:
Demographic Yearbook System
Distat, the United Nations Disability Statistics Database
Good practices database
Millennium Indicators Database
National Accounts Main Aggregates Database
Population of capital cities and cities of 100,000 and more inhabitants
Population and housing censuses
Population and Vital Statistics on Internet
Statistics and indicators on women and men
A non-profit policy research organization that aims "to examine the social, economic, and governance problems facing the nation." The site provides access to research listed by topic. Topics range from adolescents and youth development to welfare reform. In many cases full-text access is provided online for free. In addition to the research, the site provides information on locating experts, news, events, links to other policy centers and more.
The World Bank was created to fight poverty and improve living conditions for the developing world. The website provides information on the services provided, projects, statistics, research etc. Some of the information is available online for free, while other information requires a purchase or subscription access. Browsing through the Topics area of the site is an easy way to access information.