This site from the U.S. Department of Education's Office of PostSecondary Educations supplies statistics for "reported criminal offenses for over 6000 colleges and universities in the United States." Statistical information can be accessed by a variety of factors such as: geographic region, state, type of institution, name of institution, etc. In addition the site provides links to other campus security related sites.
"The Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC) is a biennial (i.e., every other school year) survey required by the U.S. Department of Education’s Office for Civil Rights (OCR). Since 1968, the CRDC has collected data on key education and civil rights issues in our nation's public schools for use by OCR in its enforcement and monitoring efforts regarding equal educational opportunity. The CRDC is also a tool for other Department offices and federal agencies, policymakers and researchers, educators and school officials, and the public to analyze student equity and opportunity."
A site from the non-profit Education Trust organization. It allows users to: "Examine overall graduation rates and see how those rates have changed over time", "Learn about universities' records graduating diverse groups of students", and "Compare the graduation rates of similar institutions - colleges and universities that share many characteristics and serve similar student populations." The site also lists additional resources of interest.
"The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school." The digest culls data from both government and private resources. Versions of the digest are available online back to 1990. Later years have some tables available for download in MS Excel format.
Established by the American Association of Higher Education "to encourage colleges and universities to support K-12 reform efforts," the Trust has evolved into an independent non-profit organization. The current "mission is to make schools and colleges work for all of the young people they serve." The Trust feels that to change K-12 education it is also necessary to change and improve higher education. The site provides access to policies, projects, presentations and publications covering a number of topics in this area.
The ELDIS database, hosted by Institute of Development Studies in Sussex, was created as an information gateway for development issues. It has a variety of resources including summaries, links to online documents, a directory of websites, databases, library catalogs, country profiles, resource guides, and email discussion lists and news services. Quick access to resources is provided through the topically arrranged guides which cover subjects such as: ageing populations, education, conflict, poverty, etc. The site can also be searched.
EuroStat is "the Statistical Office of the European Communities, established in 1953. Our mission is to gather and analyse figures from the different European statistics offices in order to provide comparable and harmonised data to the European Institutions so they can define, implement and analyse Community policies." Data covers the European Union and its Member States and partners. The website is updated on a daily basis providing access to the latest available statistical information. Since October 1, 2004 EuroStat has been provideing "free of charge access to all its databases and electronic publications."
A site from the National Center for Education Statistics. IPEDS is "a single, comprehensive system that encompasses all identified institutions whose primary purpose is to provide postsecondary education." The site provides access to surveys, publications and data collected. Also includes a glossary of terms.
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." Use Fast Facts for quick access to basic information. More in-depth information is available in other areas of the site.
"he Research Center works with higher education institutions, states, districts, high schools, and educational organizations to better inform practitioners and policymakers about student educational pathways. Through accurate longitudinal data outcomes reporting, the Research Center enables better educational policy decisions leading to improved student outcomes."
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
A wide range of economic and demographic indicators are available, across 300 industry verticals (agriculture, consumer goods, ICT, pharma…)
With NationMaster you can track thousands of statistics as and when they are released. The database is composed of data from trustworthy sources such as national statistic agencies, governments, international organizations... (UNDP, UNESCO Institute for Statistics, UNCTAD, WTO, World Bank, World Health Organization, OECD and many others)
"The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."Provided by the United Nations
"The effective use of accurate and detailed information on student achievement and other school-quality factors is central to Virginia’s commitment to providing quality instruction for all students. VDOE uses information on achievement and school quality to shape policy decisions and help educators at all levels gather, analyze, and use data to improve teaching and learning – while protecting student privacy."
"The World Inequality Database on Education (WIDE) highlights the powerful influence of circumstances, such as wealth, gender, ethnicity and location, over which people have little control but which play an important role in shaping their opportunities for education and life. It draws attention to unacceptable levels of education inequality across countries and between groups within countries, with the aim of helping to inform policy design and public debate."