LibGuides: Getting Started Guide: Statistical Resources: General

Online Resources: General Resources

The internet provides a wealth of resources for statistical information.

Evaluate the site.

Cite your source - you are using the work of another person even though it is just numbers!

ICPSR
Create an account with your CNU email! Use the My Email Instructions.
Did you previously have an ICPSR account (also called a MyData account)? Migrate to the new Researcher Passport System!

ICPSR is research science data and resources on topics like social media, politics, economics, social sciences, government, GIS, & more.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer - an online demographic research tool - revolutionizes the way researchers, scholars, and students interact with data. Containing all historical US census data from 1790 to the present and simple mapping and reporting tools, it meets the needs of experts and non-experts alike. Newly relaunched, the Social Explorer platform leapfrogs all current online mapping systems, allowing for the nimble addition of new types of data sets from around the world and expanding the user visualization and share tools.

Data Counts! Exploring Society by the Numbers
more... less...

"...an interactive website designed to help integrate social statistics into the classroom setting." Includes datasets, teaching modules and a glossary.
Data Repositories
more... less...

Provides "a list of repositories and databases for open data" arranged by subject area.
Data.gov
more... less...

"The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. "
Gallup Poll
more... less...

"Gallup delivers forward-thinking research, analytics, and advice to help leaders solve their most pressing problems. Combining more than 75 years of experience with its global reach, Gallup knows more about the attitudes and behaviors of the world's constituents, employees, and customers than any other organization."
General Social Survey
more... less...

"The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades."
Google Public Data Explorer
more... less...

"The Google Public Data Explorer makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. "
Harvard Dataverse
more... less...

Harvard Dataverse is a repository for research data.
Institute for Social Research (ISR)
more... less...

The mission of the Institute is "includes the planning and conduct of high quality social science research, the dissemination of findings from this research, and the training of future generations of social scientists." Find information on projects and research centers sponsored by the Institute. In addition information is provided on educational and training opportunities.
Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data
more... less...

Search or browse over 800 annotated links to social science data related resources on the internet. The site is provided by Data and Information Services Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
National Priorities Project
more... less...

NPP is a research organization that analyzes and clarifies federal data so that people can understand and influence how their tax dollars are spent. Located in Northampton, MA, since 1983, NPP focuses on the impact of federal spending and other policies at the national, state, congressional district and local levels.
OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
more... less...

"OECD brings together the governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the world..." The site provides access to statistical data as well as documents and other publications. Much of the information is available for free.
Our World in Data
Pew Research Center
more... less...

"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts."
Public Agenda
more... less...

Designed to provide "unbiased and unparalleled research that bridges the gap between American leaders and what the public really thinks about issues ranging from education to foreign policy to immigration to religion and civility in American life." The organization was was founded by Daniel Yankelovich, an author and social scientist and a former Secretary of State, Cyrus Vance in 1975. Research studies may be selected by title or topic. Issue guides are available by topic; also has "Special Editions" on topics such as terrorism. The site provides access to other resources as well, such as background information on polling.
Social Science Data Analysis Network
more... less...

"The Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) is a university-based organization that creates demographic media, such as user guides, web sites, and hands-on classroom computer materials that make U.S. census data accessible..." Resources include CencusScope.org and DataCounts!
StatLib
more... less...

"Data, Software and News from the Statistics Community" This Carnegie Melon website was created to distribute datasets and software around the world.
U.S. Census Bureau
more... less...

Access information collected by the Census Bureau. Provides access by category, a state and country quick facts, a search function, and a variety of tools for accessing the information including an alphabetical subject listing. Also provides access to a publciations area where users can retrieve .pdf versions of Census publications by topic.
United Nations Statistics Division
more... less...

"The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system."
USA.gov Data and Statistics
more... less...

Lists where to find U.S. government collected statistics by topic area.