LibGuides: Getting Started Guide: Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures (MCLL): Language

Databases

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography via EBSCO (with full-text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography."
JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVAA collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered; search results include detailed abstracts in multiple; and the full-text for more than 450 publications from 18 countries is provided.
Platino Educa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Platino Educa is a Spanish Language film streaming platform with over 300 films from Spain and Latin America. The films are classified by subject and cover a broad range of themes, including art, history, environmental science, literature, and social justice. The films were specifically selected for teaching and some come paired with preselected scene clips and educational guides. Films have Spanish and English subtitles. More than 70% of titles are solely distributed in the U.S. through Platino Educa.

Films on Demand - Spanish Language
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

SAMPLE

This program travels to Santander, a port city now popular as a vacation spot, to teach greetings and introductions, and how to order beer, juice, and tea. Host Yolanda Vazquez spends time with a family that has worked in the fishing industry for three generations, celebrates a local fiesta, and discovers the social importance of the café. A BBC Production. Part of the series España Viva. (24 minutes)

A BBC Production.

Random House Spanish-English English-Spanish Dictionary

Exploring the Spanish Language: An Introduction to its Structures and Varieties

Spanish-English

The Handbook of Hispanic Sociolinguistics

English-Spanish

Webster's New World Spanish Grammar Handbook

Internet Sources

FSI (Foreign Service Institute) language courses
more...less...
"he FSI (Foreign Service Institute) language courses are arguably the best free language courses available anywhere. The FSI language courses cover over 40 languages from the most spoken in the world to some less well known ones. Some of the language learning material is a bit dated, but it is still possible for someone to learn a huge amount from this material This material is public domain, that means we have put it up at no costs, and with no commercials. Feel free to use and download the PDF files and audios on this page however you would like. All of these files are the original, and some of them are a bit old (over 30 years) so some of the information in them may be a bit out of date, but they are still the best free language courses you can find anywhere.

Disclaimer: Live Lingua language school is not affiliated with the U.S. Foreign Service Institute in any way. We simply host this material for free so that it is not lost as part of the Live Lingua Project. "
The Mixxer
more...less...
"The Mixxer hosted by Dickinson College is an entirely free non-profit website hosted by Dickinson College. What began as a small project to help Professor Meguro at Dickinson College find Japanese partners for her students has expanded to 30 - 40,000 active users per month around the world. The site is free and open to anyone looking to practice a with a native speaker in exchange for help with their own. Once registered, users can search for speaking partners via the Profile Search or submit a short writing piece and ask for corrections from native speakers. Those using the writing function are asked to return the favor by correcting short samples in their native language. Our guidelines are very simple. Members are here to practice a language (this is an educational site, not a dating site), and they agree to be respectful and courteous to all users at all times. Welcome to our community where everyone is both teacher and learner."
TED Talks en Español
ESPAÑOL ABIERTO
more...less...
Open Educational Resources for the Spanish Classroom

Listen

20 Spanish Tales to Learn Spanish.
- This link opens in a new window
La Caperucita Roja (Digitally Remastered)
- This link opens in a new window
Learn in Your Car: Spanish - Level 1
- This link opens in a new window
Learn in Your Car: Spanish - Level 2
- This link opens in a new window
Learn in Your Car: Spanish - Level 3
- This link opens in a new window
Learn In Your Car: Verbs 101 Spanish
- This link opens in a new window
Sing and Learn Spanish
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish Language, Vol. 1
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish Language Course (Special Edition)
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish Language for the Family (Special Edition)
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish Short Stories: Read in Spanish
- This link opens in a new window
Vocabulearn Word Boosters Spanish
- This link opens in a new window