LibGuides: Getting Started Guide: Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures (MCLL): Literature

Databases

Literary Sources from Gale This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes: Gale Virtual Reference Library (literature related titles); Literature Resource Center - LRC; Scribner Writer Series; Twayne's Authors Series
MLA International Bibliography via EBSCO (with full-text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; current issues are usually not available due to an embargo period. Also includes access to primary source materials and images.
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Users can find citations to books, book chapters, book reviews, journal articles and dissertations related to classical studies and ancient history.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to some of the world's finest productions, unique backstage insights, practitioner interviews and written analysis.

Primary Sources

Primary Sources: Ancient History
by Trible Library at CNU Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 1957 views this year

Characterization in Ancient Greek Literature

Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: Gods & Goddesses

Homer Between History and Fiction in Imperial Greek Literature

Space, Place, and Landscape in Ancient Greek Literature and Culture

Greek Literature; An Anthology : Translations from Greek Prose and Poetry

Playing the Other: Gender and Society in Classical Greek Literature

The Book of Greek and Roman Folktales, Legends, and Myths

Reading Epic: An Introduction to the Ancient Narratives

Internet Sources

Perseus Project: Greek and Roman Collection
more...less...
A collection of items related to Greece and Rome available as part of the Perseus Project. Includes both primary and secondary items.
Online Library of Liberty
more...less...
"The Library is where electronic versions of classic books about individual liberty are stored. These texts go back some 4,000 years and cover the disciplines of economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, religion, war and peace." Items are provided free of charge for educational use.
Harvard Classics
more...less...
"The most comprehensive and well-researched anthology of all time comprises both the 50-volume “5-foot shelf of books” and the 20-volume Shelf of Fiction. Together they cover every major literary figure, philosopher, religion, folklore and historical subject through the twentieth century."