Subscriber: VIVAIncludes: Gale Virtual Reference Library (literature related titles); Literature Resource Center - LRC; Scribner Writer Series; Twayne's Authors Series
"Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography."
Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
"The Database of Arabic Literature in Western Research (DAL) is an easy-to-use, searchable, internet-based bibliographic database of Arabic literature in western research. Search Keyword and other Browse links on the left hand bar, as well as Simple Search and Advanced Search, provide easy access to detailed, annotated and content-enriched bibliographic records of books, articles, chapters of books and reviews written in English since the movement of translation and commentary of Arabic literary texts first began in the West. "
"The spread of Islam after 622 CE meant the eventual dispersal of the Arabic language from Morocco to Mesopotamia - a vast region where it displaced numerous other languages. Arabic speakers have long noted their language's poetic power and the prime example is the Qu'ran. But Arabic literature did not begin with the Qu'ran. In the ka'aba [the "cubic" temple in Mecca which was kept as the central shrine of Islam after all the religious statues had been removed], there were a number of poems "hanged" on the walls. Some of these "hanged poems" were allowed to remain after the Muslim order was established. They allow us some insight into the literature of pre-Islamic Arabia. " Medieval Sourcebook Fordham
"... Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections. These rare—and frequently unique—materials are now freely available to Internet users worldwide."
"Digitized manuscripts from the Islamic Manuscripts Collection at the University of Michigan, mainly in Arabic, Persian and Ottoman Turkish and dating from the 9th to 20th century"
The Book of the Thousand Nights and One Night
Volume 1
volume 2
volume 3
volume 4
Viewer discretion is advised. This video contains violent images. This video contains mature themes. This video contains nudity.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
