LibGuides: Getting Started Guide: Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures (MCLL): Literature

Databases

MLA International Bibliography via EBSCO (with full-text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
ProQuest Literature & Language Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple ProQuest databases covering literature and language related topics.
JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; current issues are usually not available due to an embargo period. Also includes access to primary source materials and images.
BDSL (Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft) This link opens in a new window
Library has access to free version only (1985-2013)
"- der Onlineversion der Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft.
BDSL Online wird von der Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main als Schwerpunktbibliothek für Germanistik erstellt. Sie ist die wichtigste bibliographische Informationsquelle für Germanisten mit dem Fokus Literaturwissenschaft. "

Google Translation
"- the online version of the Bibliography of German Linguistics and Literature .
BDSL Online is created by the University Library of Frankfurt am Main as a focus library for German studies. It is the most important bibliographic source of information for German scholars with a focus on literary studies."

Primary Sources

Primary Sources: Germany
by Trible Library at CNU Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 2907 views this year

German Poetry: An Anthology from Klopstock to Enzensberger

The Tin Drum, Translated from the German by Ralph Manheim.

Bitter Healing: German Women Writers from 1700 to 1830: An Anthology

German Literature: A Very Short Introduction

The Reader, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)

Historical Dictionary of German Literature To 1945

The Oxford Companion to German Literature

On Modern German Literature (English Translation)

Die Romane : Amerika, Der Prozess, Das Schloss

The Word Unheard: Legacies of anti-Semitism in German Literature and Culture

Werke, Schriften und Briefe Abt. 1. Sämtliche Romane, Erzählungen, Gedichte, Nachgelassenes

Stadt der Engel, oder, the overcoat of Dr. Freud

Emerging German-Language Novelists of the Twenty-First Century

Internet Sources

Munich Digitization Center
more...less...
"... handles the digitization and online publication of the cultural heritage preserved by the Bavarian State Library and by other institutions. It provides one of the largest and fastest growing digital collections in Germany, now comprising 777,490 titles available online. Access is free of charge!"
Project Gutenberg-DE
The Sophie Digital Library
more...less...
"The Sophie Digital Library is an open-access, full-text-searchable source of literature written by German-speaking women from medieval times through the early 20th century. The collection covers a broad spectrum of genres and is designed to showcase literary works that have been neglected for too long. These works are made available both in facsimiles of their original format, wherever possible, as well as in a PDF transcription that promotes ease of reading and is amenable to keyword searching."