LibGuides: Getting Started Guide: Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures (MCLL): Language

Databases

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography via EBSCO (with full-text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; current issues are usually not available due to an embargo period. Also includes access to primary source materials and images.
Vente et Gestion This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage for French language business journals. Topics covered include: accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, and technology among others.

Films on Demand - French Language
- This link opens in a new window

SAMPLE

Fashion and food are two of the defining elements of French culture. For students of French, it is important that they not only develop a well-rounded vocabulary, but that they also appreciate how cultural influences flavor daily life for French people.

This program looks at fashion and food through the eyes of the French. In a question and answer format, a rich array of information about these significant cultural elements are discussed in an informal and conversational way—in French, and without English subtitles—making an ideal learning resource for middle to senior level students. A viewable/printable worksheet is available online. (French, 21 minutes)

English-French

Unforgettable French : Memory Tricks to Help You Learn and Remember French Grammar

French - English

Internet Sources

FSI (Foreign Service Institute) language courses
more...less...
"he FSI (Foreign Service Institute) language courses are arguably the best free language courses available anywhere. The FSI language courses cover over 40 languages from the most spoken in the world to some less well known ones. Some of the language learning material is a bit dated, but it is still possible for someone to learn a huge amount from this material This material is public domain, that means we have put it up at no costs, and with no commercials. Feel free to use and download the PDF files and audios on this page however you would like. All of these files are the original, and some of them are a bit old (over 30 years) so some of the information in them may be a bit out of date, but they are still the best free language courses you can find anywhere.

Disclaimer: Live Lingua language school is not affiliated with the U.S. Foreign Service Institute in any way. We simply host this material for free so that it is not lost as part of the Live Lingua Project. "
The Mixxer
more...less...
"The Mixxer hosted by Dickinson College is an entirely free non-profit website hosted by Dickinson College. What began as a small project to help Professor Meguro at Dickinson College find Japanese partners for her students has expanded to 30 - 40,000 active users per month around the world. The site is free and open to anyone looking to practice a with a native speaker in exchange for help with their own. Once registered, users can search for speaking partners via the Profile Search or submit a short writing piece and ask for corrections from native speakers. Those using the writing function are asked to return the favor by correcting short samples in their native language. Our guidelines are very simple. Members are here to practice a language (this is an educational site, not a dating site), and they agree to be respectful and courteous to all users at all times. Welcome to our community where everyone is both teacher and learner."
French Language Games
more...less...
"All French games are free to use, do not require registration, and are suitable for kids and students of all ages. "

Listen

French Children's Songs for Teaching French
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"This record presents French songs for children, specially selected to provide a fun way of introducing young listeners to French language and culture."
French Short Stories, Vol. 1: Read in French
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"The French short story tradition can be useful in teaching French. Armand Bégué, a professor at Brooklyn College, his wife, and Pierre Capritz, a professor at Yale University, have recorded six stories in two volumes accompanied by written French versions and a glossary.The first CD includes a story by Guy de Maupassant, one by Paul-Louis Courier, and another by Voltaire—three French writers known as masters of the short story. If Maupassant is considered one of the fathers of the modern short story, Courier made a reputation for himself through his letters and pamphlets, while Voltaire’s short stories are known worldwide for their critical power."
French Short Stories, Vol. 2: Read in French
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"The French short story tradition can be useful in teaching French. Armand Bégué, a professor at Brooklyn College, his wife, and Pierre Capritz, a professor at Yale University, have recorded six stories in two volumes accompanied by written French versions and a glossary. This second CD includes a story by Guy de Maupassant, one by Prosper Mérimée, and another by Voltaire—three French writers known as masters of the short story. Maupassant is considered one of the fathers of the modern short story, and Merimée’s stories turned the genre into one of the most popular of the 19th century. As for Voltaire’s work, it is known worldwide for its critical power."
Getting Along in French, Vol. 1
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"Mario Andrew Pei, linguist and polyglot from Italy has developed foreign languages courses accessible by everyone. The recording Getting Along in French, vol.1, is based on the book of the same name published by Harper & Brothers, and focuses on expressions used when travelling in France by train, bus or plane."
Speak and Read French, Part 1: Basic and Intermediate
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"This album is the first of three volumes of a French language course: Speak and Read French, created by Armand Bégué, a professor at Brooklyn College and his wife, Louise Bégué, in 1959. The recording, for basic and intermediate levels, focuses on words and expressions frequently used in French."
Speak and Read French, Part 2: Conversational French
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"This album is the second of three volumes of a French language course: Speak and Read French, created by Armand Bégué, a professor at Brooklyn College and his wife, Louise Bégué, in 1959. The recording gathers different conversations of everyday life including a doctor visit, a driving lesson and frequently asked questions at the train station."