Skip to main content

Faculty Services: Contents

Find information on services available to CNU Faculty members.

Research Resources

Assistance

Contact a librarian to discuss your research needs or any library staff member for other assistance.

Faculty Services

faculty info

 

 

 

New Books For This Month

New Acquisitions - May 2017, listed in call number order
Books are located in the General Collection,
available by request, unless otherwise indicated.

(printable list)

 

PHILOSOPHY & PSYCHOLOGY

THE ORIGINS OF THE SCOTTISH ENLIGHTENMENT / JANE RENDALL.
London : Macmillan, 1978.
B1402.E55 O74 1978b.

HUME'S PHILOSOPHY OF COMMON LIFE / DONALD W. LIVINGSTON.
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1984.
B1498 .L58 1984.

DAVID HUME : REASON IN HISTORY / CLAUDIA M. SCHMIDT.
University Park, Pa. : Pennsylvania State Univ. Press, 2003.
B1498 .S32 2003.

THE CORRESPONDENCE OF THOMAS REID / EDITED BY PAUL WOOD.
University Park, Pa. : Pennsylvania State Univ. Press, 2002.
B1532.A5 W66 2002.

THOMAS REID / KEITH LEHRER.
London ; New York : Routledge, 1989.
B1537 .L44 1989.

THOMAS REID & THE STORY OF EPISTEMOLOGY/NICHOLAS WOLTERSTORFF.
Cambridge, U.K. ... : Cambridge University Press, 2004, 2001.
B1537 .W65 2004.

AN INTRODUCTION TO YOKAI CULTURE : MONSTERS, GHOSTS, AND ...
By KOMATSU KAZUHIKO ; TRANSLATED BY HIROKO YODA AND MATT ALT.
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., 2017.
BF1517.J3 K67513 2017.

BUSHIDO AND THE ART OF LIVING : AN INQUIRY INTO SAMURAI VALUES
By ALEXANDER BENNETT.
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., 2017.
BJ971.B8 B46613 2017.


RELIGION

MYTH AND DEITY IN JAPAN : THE INTERPLAY OF KAMI AND BUDDHAS
By KAMATA TOJI ; TRANSLATED BY GAYNOR SEKINORI.
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., 2017.
BL2222.23 .K33813 2017.


GENERAL & OLD WORLD HISTORY

THE LONGEST DAY: JUNE 6, 1944 / CORNELIUS RYAN.
New York : Simon and Schuster, 1994.
D756.5.N6 R9 1994.

WITHOUT REGARD TO GOOD MANNERS: A BIOGRAPHY/GILBERT STUART...
By WILLIAM ZACHS.
Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press, c1992.
DA759.7.S78 Z33 1992.

RELIGION, LEARNING, AND SCIENCE IN THE ABBASID PERIOD
EDITED BY M.J.L. YOUNG, J.D. LATHAM, AND R.B. SERJEANT.
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1990.
DS36.85 .R45 1990.

PERSPECTIVES ON SINO-JAPANESE DIPLOMATIC RELATIONS
By THE YOMIURI SHIMBUN POLITICAL NEWS DEPT.; TRANSLATED ...
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ...(JPIC), 2017.
DS849.C6 N5713 2017.

UNSUNG HEROES OF OLD JAPAN
By MICHIFUMI ISODA ; TRANSLATED BY JULIET WINTERS CARPENTER.
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., 2017.
DS871.75 .I8413 2017.

TOWARD THE ABE STATEMENT ON THE 70TH ANNIVERSARY ...
By THE ADVISORY PANEL ON THE HISTORY OF THE 20TH CENTURY ...
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., 2017.
DS889.15 .S45513 2017.


WESTERN HEMISPHERE HISTORY

CHAVIN & THE ORIGINS OF ANDEAN CIVILIZATION/RICHARD L. BURGER.
London : Thames and Hudson, 1995.
F3429.1.C48 B86 1992.


SOCIAL SCIENCES, INCLUDING ECONOMICS

ECONOMIC SENTIMENTS: ADAM SMITH, CONDORCET, & THE ENLIGHTEN...
By EMMA ROTHSCHILD.
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2001.
HB83 .R68 2001.

ADAM SMITH'S LEGACY : HIS PLACE IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF ...
EDITED BY MICHAEL FRY.
London ; New York : Routledge, 1992.
HB103.S6 A6275 1992.

ADAM SMITH AND HIS LEGACY FOR MODERN CAPITALISM
By PATRICIA H. WERHANE.
New York : Oxford University Press, 1991.
HB103.S6 W38 1991.

ADAM SMITH AND MODERN ECONOMICS : FROM MARKET BEHAVIOUR ...
By EDWIN G. WEST.
Aldershot, Hants, England ...; E. Elgar, 1990.
HB103.S6 W415 1990.

"FREE TRADE" AND MORAL PHILOSOPHY : RETHINKING THE SOURCES ...
By RICHARD F. TEICHGRAEBER III.
Durham, N.C. : Duke University Press, 1986.
HB161 .S6694 1986.

THE ENTREPRENEUR WHO BUILT MODERN JAPAN : SHIBUSAWA EIICHI
By SHIMADA MASAKAZU; TRANSLATED BY PAUL NARUM.
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., [2017].
HC461.5.S48 S4613 2017.

GLOBAL CLASS JAPANESE SME'S / MAKOTO KUROSAKI ; TRANSLATED ...
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., 2017.
HD2346.J3 K8813 2017.

FUNDAMENTALS OF FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT
By EUGENE F. BRIGHAM, JOEL F. HOUSTON.
Mason, Ohio : South-Western Cengage Learning, 2013.
HG4026 .B6693 2013.


SOCIOLOGY

THE IDEA OF PROGRESS IN EIGHTEENTH-CENTURY BRITAIN
By DAVID SPADAFORA.
New Haven : Yale University Press, 1990.
HN385 .S73 1990.

THE HAPPY YOUTH OF A DESPERATE COUNTRY : THE DISCONNECT ...
By NORITOSHI FURUICHI ; TRANSLATED BY RAJ MAHTANI.
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., 2017.
HQ799.J3 F8613 2017.

THE AUTONOMOUS MALE OF ADAM SMITH / BY STEWART JUSTMAN.
Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, 1993.
HQ1075 .J87 1993.


POLITICAL SCIENCE

A THIRD CONCEPT OF LIBERTY : JUDGMENT AND FREEDOM IN KANT ...
By SAMUEL FLEISCHACKER.
Princeton, NJ : Princeton University Press, 1999.
JC181.K4 F58 1999.


EDUCATION

OBSERVATIONS UPON LIBERAL EDUCATION
By GEORGE TURNBULL ; EDITED ... BY TERRENCE O. MOORE, JR.
Indianapolis, Ind. : Liberty Fund, 2003.
LB575.T87 T86 2003.

SELF-RESPECT AND INDEPENDENCE OF MIND : THE CHALLENGE ...
By KITAOKA SHINICHI ; TRANSLATED BY JAMES M. VARDAMAN.
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., 2017.
LB775.F82 K5713 2017.

HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT IN TWENTIETH-CENTURY JAPAN
By INOKI TAKENORI; TRANSLATED BY TONY GONZALEZ.
Tokyo : Japan Publishing Industry Foundation ..., 2017.
LC117.J3 I5613 2017.


MUSIC

SAMTLICHE ORGELWERKE / DIETRICH BUXTEHUDE ...
Kobenhavn : Wilhelm Hansen Musikverlag, 1952.
M7.B99 H4. v.1 (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

NOELS / JEAN-FRANOIS DANDRIEU.
New York, N. Y. : Edwin F. Kalmus, [19--?].
M7.D23 N61.  (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

CHORALWERK : CHORALVORSPIELE, PARTITEN, TOCCATEN, ...
By JOHANN NEPOMUK DAVID.
Wiesbaden : Breitkopf & Hartel, c1960-
M7.D241 C46. v. 1, 4, 11, 12 (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

TEN PIECES ARRANGED FOR MODERN ORGAN ...
EDITED BY J.A. FULLER-MAITLAND.
London, J. & W. Chester [c1925].
M7.G5 C6. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

HYMN TUNE TRANSCRIPTIONS : FOR ORGAN
BY PETER CHRISTIAN LUTKIN.
New York : H.W. Gray Co., c1908.
M7.L92 H9 1908. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

A PASSIONTIDE FANTASY FOR ORGAN / BY CLARENCE MADER.
New York : J. Fischer, c1956.
M7.M35 P28 1956. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

SUITE MARIALE : OP. 65 / PAUL DE MALEINGREAU.
London : Oxford University Press, c1939.
M8.M24 S95 1939. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

SYMPHONIE DE L'AGNEAU MYSTIQUE ...
By PAUL DE MALEINGREAU.
Paris : A. Leduc, c1926.
M8.M24 S97 1926. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

FIRST SYMPHONY FOR THE ORGAN, OP. 20.
EDITED BY EDWIN ARTHUR KRAFT.
New York, G. Schirmer [c1923].
M8.M35 S91. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

SYMPHONIE EN MI MAJEUR POUR ORGUE / MAURICE LE BOUCHER.
Paris : Alphonse Leduc, c1920.
M8.5.L33 S9 1920. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

PREMIER LIVRE D'ORGUE : CONTENANT DEUX SUITES DU IER ET ...
PAR MR. CLRAMBAULT.
Mainz : B. Schott's Sohne ..., [192-?].
M9.C65 L62. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

SUITE FOR ORGAN, OP. 70.
New York, Ricordi [c1960].
M9 .C84 op. 70, 1960. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

CINQ INVOCATIONS : POUR GRAND ORGUE / HENRI DALLIER.
Paris : H. Lemoine, c1926.
M9.D35 C5. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

OFFERTOIRE FOR EASTER: ON THE MELODY YE SONS AND DAUGHTERS ...
BY FRANOIS DANDRIEU ; ARRANGED [SIC] FOR ORGAN ...
New York : H.W. Gray, c1952.
M9.D37 P44 1952. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

VARIATIONS SUR UN NOEL : POUR GRAND ORGUE, OP. 20
By MARCEL DUPR.
Paris : Alphonse Leduc, c1923.
M9 .D94 op. 20 1923. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

PRELUDE, ADAGIO ET CHORAL VARIE SUR LE THEME DU "VENI CREATOR"
By MAURICE DURUFL.
Paris : Durand ; Bryn Mawr [Pa.] : T. Presser, c1931.
M9.D95 Op.4 1931. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

FOLKLORIC SUITE : FOR ORGAN / BY JEAN LANGLAIS.
Chicago : H.T. FitzSimons, c1954.
M9.L3 F6 1954. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

THREE CHARACTERISTIC PIECES : FOR ORGAN / JEAN LANGLAIS.
London : Novello, c1957.
M9.L3 P54 1957. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

SUITE FRANCAISE, POUR GRAND ORGUE.
Paris, S. Bornemann, c1949.
M9.L3 S94 1949. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

SUMMER SKETCHES : OP. 73 / EDWIN H. LEMARE.
London : Novello, c1911.
M9.L4 S8 1911. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

FLANDRIA : (VARIATIONS) FOR ORGAN / BY AUGUST MAEKELBERGHE.
New York : H.W. Gray, c1955.
M9.M33 F52 1995. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

SUITE POUR ORGUE OP. 14 / PAUL DE MALEINGREAU.
Paris : Durand, c1919.
M9 .M335 op.14. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

TRIPTYQUE POUR LA NOEL : POUR ORGUE, OP. 23
By PAUL DE MALEINGREAU.
Paris : Editions Maurice Senart, c1923.
M9.M335 T69 1923. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

DIE GEBURT CHRISTI = CHRISTI FODSEL ...
COMP. VON OTTO MALLING.
Kopenhagen ; Leipzig : W. Hansen, [190-?].
M9 .M34 op. 48 1900. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

AUS DEM LEBEN CHRISTI : STIMMUNGSBILDER FUR DIE ORGEL, OP. 63
By VON OTTO MALLING.
Kjbenhavn ; Leipzig : Wilhelm Hansen, c1897.
M9 .M34 op.63. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

TROIS PRELUDES ET FUGUES POUR GRAND ORGUE / MARCEL DUPR.
Paris : Alphonse Leduc, [c1920].
M10 .D94 op.7. (VOGAN MUSIC COLLECTION)

 

Guide Owner

Library at CNU
Contact:
Paul & Rosemary Trible Library
library@cnu.edu

Visit Us
1 Avenue of the Arts
Newport News, VA 23606


Reference: 757-594-7132
Circulation: 757-594-7133
Media: 757-594-8894

Scheduling Services

  • 3 study rooms are available and can be scheduled through the Circulation Desk.
  •  If you would like to schedule other spaces in the library, please contact the Scheduling Office.
Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.