Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty & Staff Services: Persistent Links

Find information on services available to CNU Faculty & Staff.

Persistent Link Instructions

Please use these instructions to create persistent links from your webpage, Scholar/Blackboard course, or document to articles in databases. This will ensure that your links will work reliably and that the links will work from off campus. If your database is not listed here, please contact us at library@cnu.edu.
Important note: Do not go through Journal Finder to get to the full-text article. To create reliable urls, use direct links to the databases from the Library's Databases A to Z page, and then follow the instructions below.

One final note: be aware that your off-campus users may be required to login.

Please email the Library or call the Reference Desk if there is a problem. (757-594-7132)

Provider Databases Instructions
ACM ACM Digital
Library

View the abstract page for an article.

Copy URL from the browser toolbar.

Example:https://0-dl-acm-org.read.cnu.edu/doi/10.1145/1774088.1774362

 

Academic Video Online (ProQuest Platform) Academic Video Online

Select the Video

Scroll down to Details

Click the Document URL

Example:

https://0-search-proquest-com.read.cnu.edu/audio-video-works/not-ourselves-alone-story-elizabeth-cady-stanton/docview/1822932718/se-2?accountid=10100

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press Platform) Academic Video Online

Select the Video

Click the Share link (top of the page)

Click the Copy Permalink button

Example:

http://0-video.alexanderstreet.com.read.cnu.edu/watch/not-for-ourselves-alone-the-story-of-elizabeth-cady-stanton-susan-b-anthony

Alexander Street Press Music Online

Click the title of the album.

Link to the album by clicking the </> Embed/Link under the title.

Copy the link.

Example Album Link:

https://0-search.alexanderstreet.com.read.cnu.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity|recorded_cd|735047

Link to a song by clicking the </> symbol next to the title.

Copy the link.

Example Song Link:

https://0-search.alexanderstreet.com.read.cnu.edu/view/work/735056

Alexander Street Press American History in Video

Select the Video

Click the Share link (top of the page)

Click the Copy Permalink button

Example: http://0-video.alexanderstreet.com.read.cnu.edu/watch/all-the-way-home

ArtStor ArtStor

Click on the image.

Click the Copy button to the right of the photo.

Example: https://0-library-artstor-org.read.cnu.edu/#/asset/CARNEGIE_5140006

BioOne BioOne Complete

Click to view Full Text
Copy URL from the browser window

Example: http://0-www.bioone.org.read.cnu.edu/doi/full/10.1670/16-164

Cambridge University
Press
Cambridge Core

Click article title from result list
Copy URL from the browser window


Example: https://0-www-cambridge-org.read.cnu.edu/core/journals/politics-and-the-life-sciences/article/problem-of-obesity-and-dietary-nudges/FD9BE970A57DEBC894710EDB67AEC6B3

EBSCO APA Psychology, ATLA Religion,
Business Source
Complete, CINAHL,
Communication &
Mass Media, EBSCOhost, etc.

View Detailed Record by clicking on an article title.
Click on "Permalink" in the right hand column.  Copy the URL displayed.


Example: http://0-search.ebscohost.com.read.cnu.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=129818688&site=ehost-live&scope=site
direct=true&db=a9h&AN=33391021&site=ehost-live

FACTS.com FACTS.com, Issues &
Controversies,
Today's Science,
World News Digest

View article
Copy "Record URL" from bottom of article


Example: http://0-icof.infobaselearning.com.read.cnu.edu/recurl.aspx?wid=95676&ID=1992

 

Films on Demand

 

Films on Demand

Go to the page for the video you want

Look for the Share buttonShare button - it is usually located under the video

Click the Embed/Link tab

Copy the Record URL code

Example: https://0-fod-infobase-com.read.cnu.edu/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=95676&xtid=38598

Gale


Literature
Resource Center
  Gale Ebooks

View article
Click on the Get link icon at the top of the page get link
Copy the Select button

Press the ctrl and c buttons on the keyboard to copy it


LRC Example: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/H1420000247/LitRC?u=viva_cnu&sid=LitRC&xid=eb1482f3

Gale EBooks Example: https://read.cnu.edu/wamvalidate?url=https://go.gale.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=viva_cnu&v=2.1&it=etoc&id=GALE%7C4NVG&sid=GVRL

 

Gale Business Insights Essentials

View the Article

Click the Share button share button

Copy the url

Example: https://read.cnu.edu/wamvalidate?url=https://0-bi-gale-com.read.cnu.edu/essentials/company/68489?u=viva_cnu

HeinOnline HeinOnline

View article or document
Click the link icon
at the top
Copy URL from the popup window.


Example: http://0-heinonline.org.read.cnu.edu/HOL/Page?
collection=abajournals&handle=hein.journals/abaj92&id=1

Institute of
Physics
IOP Journals and Ebooks

Click article or book title from result list
Copy URL from the browser window

 

Example: http://0-iopscience.iop.org.read.cnu.edu/article/10.1088/0004-637X/751/1/76

JSTOR JSTOR

From the results list, click the article title to view article information.
Copy the Stable URL
underneath the article information.


Example: http://0-www.jstor.org.read.cnu.edu/stable/452055

Naxos Naxos 

Select the album

Click on the link icon (right side of screen)

This will display permalinks for both the album and for the individual songs

Copy the url that you need

Example: https://0-cnu-nml3-naxosmusiclibrary-com.read.cnu.edu/catalogue/item.asp?cid=190295220051

NewsBank Access World News

View the full article.  Click Copy Link icon and copy URL.

Example:   http://0-infoweb.newsbank.com.read.cnu.edu/apps/news/openurl?ctx_ver=z39.88-2004&rft_id=info%3Asid/infoweb.newsbank.com&svc_dat=AWNB&req_dat=0FAC5E234F77BA39&rft_val_format=info%3Aofi/fmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Actx&rft_dat=document_id%3Anews%252F16CB3105FB246180
NewsBank Popular Periodicals, Science Source, Business NewsBank, NewsBank Retrospective

View the full article.  At the end of the article will be an "Article Bookmark" to copy or a link with instructions to "right-click on the link below and copy the link location". 

Example: http://0-docs.newsbank.com.read.cnu.edu/openurl?ctx_ver=z39.88-2004&rft_id=info:sid/iw.newsbank.com:PPCT &rft_val_format=info:ofi/fmt:kev:mtx:ctx&rft_dat=16C5DBEC96628F70&svc_dat= InfoWeb:newcat&req_dat=0FAC5E234F77BA39

NewsBank America's Historical Newspapers (old interface)

Click to view the full article. At the top of the screen, click Bookmark link and copy it from the popup window.

Example: http://0-docs.newsbank.com.read.cnu.edu/openurl?ctx_ver=z39.88-2004&rft_id=info:sid/iw.newsbank.com:EANX&rft_val_format=info:ofi/fmt:kev:mtx:ctx&rft_dat=128E42C3731E5978&svc_dat=HistArchive:ahnpdoc&req_dat=0FAC5E234F77BA39

NewsBank America's Historical Newspapers (new interface)

Copy the url from the browser window

Example:

https://0-infoweb-newsbank-com.read.cnu.edu/apps/readex/doc?p=EANX&docref=image/v2%3A11A050B7B120D3F8%40EANX-128E42BBDCE45CC0%402405687-128E42BD59DAED50%409-128E42C3731E5978%40A%2BSteamer%2BAshore.%2BBaltimore%252C%2BJune%2B11%252C%2B1874

O'Reilly

O’Reilly for Higher Education

For a single Book or Video

Click on the title. Copy the link from the browser window.

Example: https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/full-stack-serverless/9781492059882/

Using Multiple Books or Videos?

Consider creating and sharing a playlist!

How to? https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/playlists

Oxford University
Press
Grove Art Online,
Oxford Art Online

View article full text
Click on "Cite" and copy URL from citation given


Example: http:////www.oxfordartonline.com/groveart/view/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.001.0001/oao-9781884446054-e-7000088848

Oxford University
Press
Grove Music Online,
Oxford Music Online

View article full text
Click on "Cite" and copy URL from citation given


Example: http:////www.oxfordmusiconline.com/grovemusic/view/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.001.0001/omo-9781561592630-e-0000011262

Oxford University
Press
Oxford English
Dictionary

Click on entry. Copy link from the browser widow.

Example: http://0-www.oed.com.read.cnu.edu/view/Entry/50451?redirectedFrom=depression&

Oxford University
Press
Oxford Journals

Click the article title.

Right click on the PDF icon and Copy Link or Save Link as (depending on your browser)


Example: https://academic.oup.com/afraf/article-pdf/117/467/171/24669438/ady009.pdf

Oxford University
Press
Oxford Reference

View article or book
Click on "Cite" and copy URL from citation given


Example: http://0-www.oxfordreference.com.read.cnu.edu/view/10.1093/acref/9780192829160.001.0001/acref-9780192829160-e-3

Project Muse Project Muse

Click the link for HTML or PDF.

Copy the link from the browser window.

 Example: https://0-muse-jhu-edu.read.cnu.edu/article/578096

ProQuest ProQuest Online,
ABI/Inform,
OxResearch,
etc.

Click on the Abstract/Details link (or tab.)
Scroll down to find the Document URL. Copy the link that is listed.

Example: https://0-search-proquest-com.read.cnu.edu/docview/1491439110?accountid=10100

DO NOT USE THE DOI link

ProQuest Ebook Central

Click on the book title.

On the left side, click Share Link to Book. Copy the link from the popup window.

Example:

http://0-ebookcentral.proquest.com.read.cnu.edu/lib/cnu/detail.action?docID=224659

Sage Sage Journals Online

Click the article title or pdf.
Copy URL from the browser window

Example: https://0-journals-sagepub-com.read.cnu.edu/doi/full/10.1177/194008291200500103

Wiley Wiley Online Library

Click the article title.

Copy URL from the browser window

Example:https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1111/jpn.12930

 

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.