"The Beat Movement broadsides and posters in this collection document the poetic and aesthetic revolution in literature and arts in the 1950s, challenging the repressive and even censorial nature of U.S. society. Diverse in size, quality, and quantity – from mimeographs to fine letterpress print – broadsides have been important vehicles for political, social, and cultural commentary on a profusion of subjects including such diverse topics as politics, free love, the anti-war movement, environmental consciousness, civil rights, and free speech. The broadsides in this collection are critical primary research materials, artfully revealing the dynamic social movements of the 1950s and 1960s." Merrill-Cazier Library
"Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google."
"The Narcotics Story began life as a training film for the LA police department. In sledgehammer fashion, producer-director Robert W. Larsen exposes the evils of marijuana, heroin and cocaine by illustrating the results of these drugs on "normal" people. The screaming, thrashing addicts depicted herein were actually played by police personnel, none of whom were exactly Academy Award prospects. There are also several scenes showing the manufacture and distribution of illegal drugs. Narcotics Story tends to elicit loud laughter when seen today, much like Reefer Madness and the "Blue Boy" episode from Dragnet." ~ Hal Erickson, All Movie Guide
"Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 4,000 titles on videotape and a smaller collection of film materials acquired subsequent to the Library of Congress transaction. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions" Available through the Internet Archive
"In the 1950s, parents, educators, religious leaders, and moralists expressed intense concern over the perceived harmful effects of modern life on the nation’s youth. This concern was not new, however. Fears of corrupting influences on youth have periodically flooded the public discourse, from child-rearing tomes of the antebellum period to congressional hearings in the 1950s on media and juvenile delinquency. The following editorial from 1950, in the popular magazine Collier’s, offered one perspective on the potential harm of such youthful indiscretions as radio programs, phonograph records, Western movies, and comic books and advocated tolerance for youth-oriented popular culture."
"On July 1, 1946, less than a year after dropping atom bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki to end World War II, the U.S. embarked on its first postwar atomic weapons test at the Bikini Atoll in the Marshall Islands. David Bradley, a physician and member of the Radiological Safety Unit at Bikini, voiced concern over dangers from radioactivity in his 1948 best-seller, No Place to Hide. In response to Bradley and other critics, the Atomic Energy Commission, the military, and other government agencies attempted to diffuse growing fears about radioactivity. The following Collier’s article by a military officer—using the same eyewitness-account format as in Bradley’s book—tried to persuade its readers that fears about “lingering radiation” were unfounded by documenting a test in the Nevada desert in which the military deliberately sent soldiers close to “ground zero” soon after an explosion. Some readers remained unconvinced; their published letters can be found following the article. In 1963, the U.S. and Soviet Union signed a treaty to halt atmospheric tests of nuclear weapons. By that time, some 300,000 U.S. military personnel and an unknown number of civilians in areas downwind from the test sites had been exposed to radiation. In subsequent years, studies revealed higher rates of leukemia, cancer, respiratory ailments, and other health problems among these groups. Underground atomic weapons tests continued at the Nevada Test Site until a moratorium was declared in 1992, after 928 nuclear tests." GMU History Matters
Book Sources: Pop Culture - the 1950s
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.