Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Daily Press, Virginian-Pilot, USA Today and international sources.
This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Covering 1690-1876, this online collection provides access to the nation’s early periods through the full text of essential newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia.
Historical Coverage of the U.S. Civil War Era - Earliest issue: February 03, 1840
Latest issue: December 04, 1867
Note: Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Provides cover-to-cover full-text access for 131 national & international newspapers as well as selective full-text coverage for more than 335 U.S. newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1997)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-1996)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index (1851-2016)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2002)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2003)
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
"Metropolitan Atlanta is the area of Georgia surrounding the city of Atlanta and is one of the most densely populated regions in the country. Atlanta is located in northwestern Georgia, south of the Appalachian Mountains and north of the fall line that runs from Columbus to Augusta."
"The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to Westward Ho!, date from 1865 to 1994."
"Brooklyn Newsstand is a searchable database of historic Brooklyn newspapers, created in a joint effort between the Brooklyn Collection -- Brooklyn Public Library's local history division -- and Newspapers.com. This partnership gives the public free access to the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper, which was published from 1841 to 1955."
"... is a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers."
"Articles presented on this site were originally published between 1828 and 1834 in the Cherokee Phoenix, the national newspaper of the Cherokee Nation. This site is not affiliated with any current newspaper." "The goal of Hunter Library's Cherokee Phoenix Project has been to offer the English language articles concerning Cherokee Indian and regional history found in the Cherokee Phoenix newspaper, published by the Cherokee Nation from 1828-1834. Articles of a general nature or reprinted from other periodicals but having no direct relation to Cherokee or regional history were not included."
"The Chicago Examiner, a William Randolph Hearst publication, began in 1902 as a morning edition to complement the evening edition paper, the Chicago American. The Chicago Public Library’s 10-year run of the Examiner, while incomplete, extends from 1908 to 1918 and represents the longest run of the paper still available. "
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress."
The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 500,000 digitized pages, representing 163 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923. Due to copyright restrictions, CHNC does not generally include newspapers published after 1923. Description from site
"... currently includes more than 690,000 digitized pages, representing 199+ individual newspaper titles published in Colorado primarily from 1859 to 1923. Due to copyright restrictions, the CHNC does not generally include newspapers published after 1923, but the CHNC can digitize through 1963 if publisher permission can be secured."
"... the newspaper of Columbia University and Morningside Heights and the second-oldest college daily paper in the country. When completed, the Archive will include the complete run of the newspaper from 1877 to the present. "
Connecting Canadians provides an opportunity for individuals to connect with their heritage by exploring early newspapers and engaging in learning activities. The collection includes Croatian, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Polish, Serbian, Ukrainian, Serbo-Croatian, Latvian, and Lithuanian newspapers.
Description from site
"For more than 120 years, the Sun has provided news, information, and entertainment to the entire Cornell community. Accounts of campus events and activities, sports reporting, and editorial commentary all contribute to make the Sun one of the most important sources of information on the history of the university. "
"Dating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan Newspaper Collection provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. Though not yet comprehensive, issues will continue to be added."
"This student-run newspaper has been published since 1926 under the titles of The Searchlight, The Kent Stater, and The Daily Kent Stater. The collection now includes issues dating from February 1926 through December 2016. Also included are Kent Summer News and Summer Stater issues from the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s, and 2000s. From 29 August 2013 through spring 2015, one issue per week was released under the title of KSU Buzz, a weekly entertainment magazine. Please note that there were no issues of the paper from July 1943 through August 1944 and from Fall 1950 on file in print or on microfilm in Kent State University Special Collections and Archives. Within some issues from the 2000s, some damage has occurred to portions of pages due to the binding process."
"The Digital Military Collection is an ongoing project to house, organize and preserve contemporary and historic military books, newspapers, periodicals, video and audio content." University of Florida
"This project is the first phase of a multi-phase project to digitize the local newspaper which is currently on microfilm. The scope of this project covers approximately sixteen years, an estimated 7,800 pages, of early 20th century local newspapers that are currently on microfilm. These newspapers contain a wealth of local history information on businesses, individuals and events that is not available elsewhere. The reels include: one reel with eight sporadic issues ranging from 1883-1917 (Southern Illinois Journal & Weekly Journal), two reels that contain most issues from 1907-1908 (Southern Illinois Journal), and thirteen reels covering most issues for Oct. 1912 through Dec. 1926 (Southern Illinois Record, Flora Record, and Flora Journal Record)."
Collection provided by: Flora Public Library
"...exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. All of the over 1,000,000 pages of historic through current Florida newspapers in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text. "
"... an online repository of Oklahoma history. You may browse through hundreds of thousands of newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s. The Gateway provides free access to 88,344 issues and 666,237 pages of historical newspaper content."
"Find historical newspapers from the Endicott area from 1855-1960, including Union-Endicott News, The Union Weekly News, The Union News, Lestershire-Endicott Record, The Endicott Bulletin, The Union Argus, The Endicott-Johnson Workers Review, and numerous E-J pamphlets and Union-Endicott school publications."
Archive of news older than 30 days. Some items may be free for articles requiring a fee, CNU Students, Faculty & Staff should check the Journal Finder Database to find articles available from CNU.
Articles not available from CNU can be requested via Interlibrary Loan
"This guide provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google. The content is available for free, though it is at the discretion of the institution providing the content. "
"The Jewish press in its many and varied languages is first and foremost a source of information on the history and culture of world Jewry and on the countries of Jews' residence in the modern era. The Historical Jewish Press website brings the digitization revolution to this field and offers the possibility to perform a full search of all the published text of a given newspaper throughout all the years of its publication. Using the ActivePaper software of the Olive-Software company, the website hopes to make avilable online the majority of Jewish newspapers and journals published in the past, including extremely rare newspapers to which access has been previously impossible."
"...newspapers are selected for digitization based on their research value, geographic representation of the state, and temporal coverage. Newspapers must have been published between the years 1836 and 1922 to be eligible. "
"... documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s." The University of Arizona
"Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. We seek to provide free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers by digitizing our collection, and assisting other organizations in making their collections digitally available."
"Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
"What began as a two-page church bulletin by co-founders George Pheldon Stewart and William H. Porter, the Indianapolis Recorder is now one of the top African-American publications in the nation. Established in 1897, the Indianapolis Recorder focused on local people and events in Indianapolis but also reported national events. IUPUI University is pleased to present the Indianapolis Recorder Digital Collection. Providing access to the 1899-2005 run of the Indianapolis Recorder will have an impact on researchers from all walks of life. Whether you are a family historian, an academic researcher or part of the media, this collection will help you search for and access historically important stories of African-Americans individuals, organizations, and events in Indianapolis, Indiana in the 20th and 21st centuries."
"The Maroon, the student newspaper of Loyola University New Orleans, has been published since 1923. The Maroon covers student life, campus activities, cultural and athletic events, Loyola University New Orleans administration, faculty and staff, and other features."
"s a collaborative site developed by the University of Nebraska–Lincoln and the Nebraska State Historical Society. It presents many resources relating to the State's papers such as searchable full-text of selected newspapers published in the state before 1923 and information about historically significant newspapers. Editorials cover different social, political, and economic viewpoints from various regions of Nebraska."
"In 2009, the State Archives of North Carolina completed a project to digitize newspapers from its collection that were, up until that time, only available on microfilm. These materials include papers dating from 1752-1890s from cities like Edenton (1787-1801), Fayetteville (1789-1795), Hillsboro (1786), New Bern (1751-1804), Salisbury (1799-1898), and Wilmington (1765-1816) – a total of 23,483 digital images that are keyword searchable. The North Carolina Digitization Project was made possible by a LSTA grant provided by the State Library of North Carolina."
"From its pioneering days in the late 19th century, through the Pulitzer Prize-winning work during the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake, the Tribune has maintained a remarkable tradition of excellence in photojournalism. The Tribune collection is a major source for historical documentation of the Bay Area during the 1960s and 1970s. It is rich in images of protests at UC Berkeley, including the Free Speech Movement, the antiwar movement during the Vietnam war, and People's Park."
Online newspapers available from Lancaster Pennsylvania's Historical Society:
* Lancaster City and County Directories (1843-1900)
* The Lancaster Examiner & Herald (1834-1872)
* The Columbia Spy (1830-1889)
* The Intelligencer Journal (1848-1871)
* The New Holland Clarion (1873-1950)
* The Lancaster Farmer (1869-1884)
"Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection contain all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War. Newspapers played a prominent role in the conflict. They helped mobilize public opinion for, or against, the war, relayed battlefield developments to their readers, and documented political life on the homefront. Beyond military or political concerns there is much on cultural topics including travel, arts and leisure, sports and contests, and local social events."
"...is composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present). This project serves as both an online reference source and as a digitized historical documentation of the Jewish community of Pittsburgh and its outlying areas."
"The Melrose Park Public Library digitized copies of our local newspaper, The Herald, from the WWII years of 1941-1945. These papers depict life during the war years for the residents of not only Melrose Park, but neighboring communities including Maywood, Bellwood, Forest Park, Stone Park, Hillside and Westchester."
Collection provided by: Melrose Park Public Library
"On April 20, 1955, The Rebel Yell made its debut as Nevada Southern's student newspaper, its headline announcing the opening of the campus social season, the Confederate Cotillion. Since then, The Rebel Yell has provided what its founding editors promised: "The paper stands to serve the students, and will try to fulfill every need. Its pages will contain news of every type – varying from feature articles to campus happenings."
The paper has also succeeded in documenting the most important part of a university, its student life. Its pages reflect that microcosm of American youth culture represented by university students, morphing through hair and clothing styles, on a campus close to the throb of America’s fantasy city, Las Vegas. It is a reflection of collegiate life: campus events, student life, political issues and activism, theater, dance, and music. But beyond the traditional photos of sporting events and campus buildings, the life on an urban campus is an important part, not just of the history of the university, but also of its setting in the city of Las Vegas. For those of us at UNLV, it is our history."
"The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century. Originally known as the Deaf Mute Times, it was first published in February 1888 and renamed The Silent Worker on September 27 of the same year. The New Jersey School for the Deaf continued its publication monthly, except for July, August, and periodically September until it ceased in June 1929. Deaf American authors wrote almost all articles, although occasional contributions by deaf individuals from other countries were also printed. Gallaudet University Archives has converted their collection of The Silent Worker from 1888 to 1929 into digital format, and made it available on the World Wide Web for public research."
"From the start, The Southern Courier recruited and maintained a bi-racial staff committed to reporting and disseminating the news in a professional and objective manner. It was never to be merely a journal of opinion. Reporters and editors were expected to become part of their communities, black and white alike, and not to engage in "drive-by" journalism or attempts at social change; to use their skills as journalists and not become community organizers or advocates for a single point of view; and to produce a quality newspaper that reached out beyond those who already agreed with the pro-civil rights perspective of its editorial page."
"Southern Voice newspaper was a significant resource for the LGBT community in the Southeast from 1988 to 2010, providing in-depth information on topics such as the fight against AIDS, marriage equality, legal issues, workplace discrimination, and violence against gay individuals."
"Providing a firsthand account of life at Stanford from 1892-today, the archives is an invaluable resource for anyone looking to explore American history as seen through the eyes of undergraduates. Issues are presented as originally printed, accompanied by a sidebar featuring articles in plain text. The collection is entirely searchable, and registration is only necessary to make corrections in the plain text."
"The Vassar College Digital Newspaper Archives provides access to a wide range of newspapers published by Vassar College students from 1872-present. The publications feature numerous diverse topics, political opinions, literary works and criticisms, and rich illustrations; overall, they provide an excellent overview of ideas, issues, and events happening on- and off-campus throughout Vassar's history."
"The Vermont Digital Newspaper Project is committed to providing free online access to historic Vermont newspapers published between 1836 to 1922, as part of a nationwide newspaper digitization effort."
"The Virginia Newspaper Project (VNP), established in 1993, has worked to locate, describe, inventory, preserve, and provide public access to United States imprint newspapers housed not only at the Library of Virginia but throughout the commonwealth. This collection contains 90,813 issues comprising 652,665 pages and 122,203 articles."
A digital version of this historic Virginia newspaper "published weekly in Williamsburg, 1736-1780; the news covered all Virginia and included some information for other colonies, Scotland, England etc. Not all the issues survived, and some have surfaced since they were first reproduced on microfilm in the mid-twentieth century that is the basis for the digital version. "
"Available through this website are all the newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922, in an easily searchable format.More than 800,000 newspaper pages have been converted from microfilm to a digital format."
"Public Domain newspaper articles in the US span a period of nearly two and a half centuries. Subjects, styles, period, publisher, and length vary greatly. This collection is a sampling of twenty such articles including one from the Journal de Paris. Although some of the works on the Librivox catalog such as the Federalist Papers were published in newspapers, this is the first collection of newspaper articles.
(Summary by James Smith)."
"This collection of 20 public domain newspaper articles comprises volume 2 of Historic Newspaper Articles in the LibriVox collection. Both U.S. and U.K. newspapers are represented here. The articles span from 1848 to 1920. Topics covered (e.g., the Triangle Shirt Waist Factory Fire, the troubles of ‘Typhoid Mary’, how to dress for the seashore) vary in length and tone. Although the writers display a range of diverse styles, their words give today’s readers a sense of the tenor of the times. (summary by Lee Ann Howlett)"