Primary Sources: The 1910's: Law & Crime

"The 1912 Carroll County gun battle between law officers and the Allen family has probably inspired more imaginations than any single event in that county’s history. Known regionally as the "Hillsville Shootout," the fight received immediate national attention, and it has been memorialized in books, folksongs, and even a rock opera."

""The 1912 Carroll County gun battle between law officers and the Allen family has probably inspired more imaginations than any single event in that county’s history. Known regionally as the "Hillsville Shootout," the fight received immediate national attention, and it has been memorialized in books, folksongs, and even a rock opera." "

"The Industrial Workers of the World (IWW), sometimes known as the Wobblies, is a radical labor organization that was most active from 1900 to the 1930s. This collection of pamphlets, leaflets and letters, originally held by the now defunct I.W.W. Seattle Office, focuses on the Centralia Tragedy of 1919 in Centralia, Washington. The event is also known as the Armistice Day Riot and the Centralia Massacre, a term coined not largely adopted by the labor movement and social justice advocates because it suggest a one-sided confrontation, when in fact both sides were armed. "

"In this digital collection are selections [about 1/3 of the collection] from The Trial Transcripts of the County of New York 1883-1927 collection. This collection consists of the verbatim typewritten proceedings of 3,326 court cases, held in various courts of New York County, which included Manhattan and the Bronx until 1914."

"Photographs document the the scene of the 1916 Preparedness Day parade bombing and events which followed. Other photos relate to the 1933 Mooney case including courtroom scenes, photos of Mooney, various legal figures, etc."

For some crimes, related primary documents are available.

"This collection consists of records concerning one the largest race riots in American history, the mutiny and riot of soldiers of the 3rd Battalion, 24th U.S. Infantry that occurred on August 23, 1917, at Camp Logan (now Memorial Park), Houston, Texas. It resulted in the largest murder trial in American history. The mutiny and riot were sparked by the racism directed toward the African American soldiers by the police and citizens of Houston, and resulted in three general courts-martial held at Fort Sam Houston, San Antonio, Texas in late 1917 and early 1918. One hundred seventeen soldiers were tried and 110 were convicted: 19 were executed and 91 were sentenced to various terms of confinement at the U.S. Penitentiary at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. The original records are found in Records Group 153 and 393, Modern Military Records Branch, Textual Archives Services Division, National Archives and Records Administration, College Park, Maryland. The records in this collection are digital images taken from microfilm."

"This site is about the 76 men and three women convicted of sedition in Montana in 1918 and 1919."
Includes primary sources such as photos and documents related to the convictions.

"A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court. "

" An account of the recent burning of a human being at Waco, Tex., as reported by special agent of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, 70 Fifth Avenue, New York City."