It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources: The 1960s: Medicine, Science & Tech
"The records chronicle the American Social Health (originally "Hygiene") Association's efforts to control and prevent venereal disease, prostitution, and drug addiction through educational, legal, and medical measures. The records reflect considerable interaction with the armed forces, particularly during periods of war or full mobilization. Field reports document conditions in individual cities and the influence of housing, recreation, sanitation, and other factors on vice and public health. Financial sections reflect the development of federated fund-raising and its impact on a national association's program. Activities of longtime executives and staff members William Snow, C. Walter Clarke, Bascom Johnson, and Paul Kinsie are extensively documented. Also included are extensive files of printed materials on social hygiene produced by ASHA."
"The first landing of men on the Moon is the culmination of a dream. A new concept of reality begins as man stands on the threshold of a new age. Includes onboard tapes and scenes showing launch, lunar orbit, landing, Neil Armstrong - first man to walk on the moon, EVA, rendezvous, recovery, and return to Houston."
"The Apollo Lunar Surface Journal is a record of the lunar surface operations conducted by the six pairs of astronauts who landed on the Moon from 1969 through 1972. The Journal is intended as a resource for anyone wanting to know what happened during the missions and why. It includes a corrected transcript of all recorded conversations between the lunar surface crews and Houston. The Journal also contains extensive, interwoven commentary by the Editor and by ten of the twelve moonwalking astronauts."
"Since the 1990s, the bitsavers collective has been scanning computer-related documentation and materials as well as rescuing software from rapidly-fading media. Intended to be a permanent and accessible collection of manuals, technical specifications and lore related to computer brands and materials, the collection now houses thousands of documents containing millions of pages. The project is primarily the work of Al Kossow, tireless worker and scanner, who has spent endless hours hand-scanning in materials from a variety of sources and on loan from collectors. Others have contributed scans and software as well. The Internet Archive collection of Bitsavers is a collection of portions of the PDF section of bitsavers.org's scanned documents, allowing easier browsing and search capability to the site's ever-growing library. Please browse the original Bitsavers site to read these documents in directory fashion as was intended by the administrators of Bitsavers."
"Fascinating documentary made to train police officers in the assistance and management of mentally ill and confused persons, produced in New Orleans by eminent filmmaker George C. Stoney using real New Orleans police officers as actors. A little-known ethnographic classic that is strongly rooted in the place where it was made."
"Fascinating documentary made to train police officers in the assistance and management of mentally ill and confused persons, produced in New Orleans by eminent filmmaker George C. Stoney. A little-known ethnographic classic that is strongly rooted in the place where it was made."
"AN ACCOUNT OF THE REHABILITATION OF AN ELECTRICIAN WHO IS TOTALLY AND PERMANENTLY BLINDED BY AN ACCIDENT. SHOWS HOW HIS COURAGE AND EFFORTS HELP HIM TO COMPLETE TRAINING UNDER FEDERAL, STATE, AND PRIVATE PROGRAMS WHICH ENABLES HIM TO RETURN TO HIS JOB."
"Disability is an aspect of human experience that crosses all boundaries of race, class and gender, and it leaves a trail in all societies, everywhere. Our Collections aim to reveal the rich possibilities and directions disability history offers as a means to study our collective human experience."
"Elisabeth Bing—physiotherapist, childbirth educator, and cofounder of the American Society for Psychoprophylaxis in Obstetrics (now Lamaze International)—is well known to most childbirth educators in the United States. She has been a true pioneer in the education of parents for pregnancy and birth. Her book, Six Practical Lessons for an Easier Childbirth, served to guide many parents and childbirth educators in the use of the Lamaze Method for labor and birth. She has prepared a countless number of parents for their birth experience in both her hospital classes in the 1950s and 1960s and in her private classes in the “studio” of her New York City apartment building, where she began teaching in the 1960s and continues to teach today. Elisabeth is beloved by all those who have had the opportunity to meet her or work with her. She has created a legacy that will continue for decades to come."
"The History of Vaccines is an award-winning informational, educational website created by The College of Physicians of Philadelphia, one of the oldest medical societies in the United States." The site includes an image gallery with images ranging from the pre-1700s to the present.
"Excerpts from a 73-minute White House meeting that took place on November 21, 1962 during which President Kennedy made clear his administrations priority that the United States land on the moon before the Soviet Union."
"The author, who accomplished the majority of her work as a childbirth educator while based in Tampa, Florida, journals the experience of being an early pioneer in promoting Lamaze childbirth in the United States, beginning in the 1960s. Many aspects of her story are common to the stories of other childbirth educators who also pioneered the childbirth movement in the United States during the same time frame. This history is presented for its potential usefulness to those who continue to work to advance the Lamaze International goal of promoting normal birth."
"This is the unedited audio of the Mercury Atlas 6 / Friendship 7 Flight Audio Recorder as heard and spoken by Astronaut John Glenn during his entire 4 hour and 55 minute mission on February 20th 1962. It contains all audio that was recorded by the onboard flight recorder. However, you may notice it does not contain words like "God Speed John Glenn" since those words were not spoken over the "Air to Ground" loop and not heard by Glenn until after his mission."
"The Eagle Has Landed - the true story of the historic first landing of men on the Moon in July, 1969. It depicts the principal highlight events of the mission from launching through post-recovery activities of Astronauts Neil Armstrong, Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin, and Michael Collins. Through television, motion picture and still photography, the film provides an "eye-witness" perspective of the Apollo 11 mission."
"NASA test pilot Neil Armstrong is seen here next to the X-15 ship #1 (56-6670) after a research flight. The X-15 was a rocket-powered aircraft 50 feet long with a wingspan of 22 feet. It was a missile- shaped vehicle with an unusual wedge-shaped vertical tail, thin stubby wings, and unique side fairings that extended along the side of the fuselage."
"Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 4,000 titles on videotape and a smaller collection of film materials acquired subsequent to the Library of Congress transaction. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions" Available through the Internet Archive
"This video presents unedited film footage of President John F. Kennedy's speech at Rice University, Houston, Texas, September 12, 1962. The speech expresses the commitment of the United States to landing an astronaut on the Moon."
"The following documents were obtained as part of the research for The Wizards of Langley: Inside the CIA's Directorate of Science and Technology through Freedom of Information Act requests, research in the National Archives, or provided by the CIA. They are grouped into four categories:
Growing Involvement: 1947-1962
Deputy Directorate for Research: 1962-1963
S&T and the Cold War: 1963-1991
After the Cold War: 1991-2001"
"An archive of 14 million documents created by tobacco companies about their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, scientific research and political activities, hosted by the UCSF Library and Center for Knowledge Management. "
"This collection consists of correspondence, scrapbooks, clippings, college records, images, diaries, publications and ephemera documenting the history of women physicians beginning with the first medical school for women, Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania (WMCP). "
"The iconic Mustang that was launched in 1964 had gone through several design changes on its way to galloping to success.
The Allegro, the Mustang II, a two seater sports car and more. It wasn't alone.
Ford, like the other auto companies, designed a number of concept cars and used them to gauge the interest of the media and the public. Also gave their designers the room to experiment and try new things.
The '50s and the '60s were a fertile time for experimental design." King Rose Archives
Apollo 11 Moon Walk Montage - July 20, 1969
This two-minute video montage shows highlights of the Apollo 11 moonwalk.
"This book examines the history of U.S. drug policy chronologically, from the early 1900s through the current day. Topics include patent medicines, Prohibition, Reefer Madness, the psychedelic '60s, Nixon's War on Drugs, and the powerful warring Mexican drug cartels that currently threaten political instability in that country."