Primary Sources: The 1960s: Campus Newspapers

A collection of newspapers written by Austin College students. Newspapers in the collection include: The Kangaroo, 1918-1968; the Hopper, 1972-1981; and AC Observer, 1982-2006.

Various newspapers from Boston College - years vary by title

Digitized issues from the newspaper at Bryn Mawr College beginning in 1914

The Campus Underground series includes over 75 publications that originated from college and university campuses and surrounding communities. Whether laid out in traditional black and white straight columns or full-color psychedelic, the publications in this collection provide a vivid mosaic of the times. The collection includes such iconic publications as the Berkeley Barb, The Paper (East Lansing), the Los Angeles Free Press, The Fifth Estate (Detroit) and the East Village Other; collectively the founding members of the Underground Press Syndicate.

"The Collegian is the editorially independent weekly newspaper published by the students at the University of Richmond since 1914."

"... the newspaper of Columbia University and Morningside Heights and the second-oldest college daily paper in the country. When completed, the Archive will include the complete run of the newspaper from 1877 to the present. "

"For more than 120 years, the Sun has provided news, information, and entertainment to the entire Cornell community. Accounts of campus events and activities, sports reporting, and editorial commentary all contribute to make the Sun one of the most important sources of information on the history of the university. "

"Student newspaper of the University of Alabama. Currently online: September 1950 - May 1953; September 1955 - August 1968; September 1970 - August 1974"

"This student-run newspaper has been published since 1926 under the titles of The Searchlight, The Kent Stater, and The Daily Kent Stater. The collection now includes issues dating from February 1926 through December 2016. Also included are Kent Summer News and Summer Stater issues from the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s, and 2000s. From 29 August 2013 through spring 2015, one issue per week was released under the title of KSU Buzz, a weekly entertainment magazine. Please note that there were no issues of the paper from July 1943 through August 1944 and from Fall 1950 on file in print or on microfilm in Kent State University Special Collections and Archives. Within some issues from the 2000s, some damage has occurred to portions of pages due to the binding process."

"The Flat Hat is a rich source of information, announcing events taking place on campus as well as reflecting student opinion. The student newspaper began publication in October 1911 and, except during the fall of 1918, has been continuously published ever since."

Online archives for the Harvard Crimson - The daily newspaper of Harvard College.

"The Maroon, the student newspaper of Loyola University New Orleans, has been published since 1923. The Maroon covers student life, campus activities, cultural and athletic events, Loyola University New Orleans administration, faculty and staff, and other features."

"

The Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary was established in 1930. Its name was changed in 1960 to Norfolk College of William and Mary. The institution became independent from the College of William and Mary in 1962 and the name was changed at that time to Old Dominion College. In 1969, the institution's name was changed to the current Old Dominion University.

The Flat Hat, a student newspaper at the College of William and Mary, is a rich source of information, announcing events taking place on campus as well as reflecting student opinion. It began publication in October 1911 and, except during the fall of 1918, has been continuously published ever since.

The Weathervane, a supplement to The Flat Hat, documents student protests and discontent during the Vietnam War era.

Offshoots, including The Straw Hat and The High Hat, were published separately. The Straw Hat was the summer school student newspaper with issues for July 3-Aug. 14, 1914, published at William and Mary's Dublin, Virginia branch; 1927-1933 issues were published at the Williamsburg campus. The High Hat (1930-1961) was the student newspaper of the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. The Fat Head is the traditional April 1 edition."

"The Michigan Daily was founded in 1890 as a student-run organization, both financially and editorially independent from the University of Michigan."

Michigan State University's campus newspaper.

A collection of alternative and underground newspapers connected to San Diego State University. The project was conducted by by Leo Stezano as an internship for an MSLIS degree at Syracuse University (IST-971).

"On April 20, 1955, The Rebel Yell made its debut as Nevada Southern's student newspaper, its headline announcing the opening of the campus social season, the Confederate Cotillion. Since then, The Rebel Yell has provided what its founding editors promised: "The paper stands to serve the students, and will try to fulfill every need. Its pages will contain news of every type – varying from feature articles to campus happenings."

The paper has also succeeded in documenting the most important part of a university, its student life. Its pages reflect that microcosm of American youth culture represented by university students, morphing through hair and clothing styles, on a campus close to the throb of America’s fantasy city, Las Vegas. It is a reflection of collegiate life: campus events, student life, political issues and activism, theater, dance, and music. But beyond the traditional photos of sporting events and campus buildings, the life on an urban campus is an important part, not just of the history of the university, but also of its setting in the city of Las Vegas. For those of us at UNLV, it is our history."

" The Review is the independent student newspaper of the University of Delaware. Since 1882, it has served as a voice for UD students and has striven to provide timely, accurate and insightful information about the university and the surrounding community.

The Review has been known by four titles since it began publication in 1882:

-- Delaware College Review (1882-1921)

-- Delaware Review (1921)

-- University of Delaware Review (1921-1926)

-- The Review (1926-present) "

"Although the name of the campus newspaper has changed several times, its mission has remained steadfast: "To operate superior, responsive student media in a learning environment dedicated to excellence, student freedom of expression and sound business practices appropriate to a university.""

"Providing a firsthand account of life at Stanford from 1892-today, the archives is an invaluable resource for anyone looking to explore American history as seen through the eyes of undergraduates. Issues are presented as originally printed, accompanied by a sidebar featuring articles in plain text. The collection is entirely searchable, and registration is only necessary to make corrections in the plain text."

Synapse is a student run weekly newspaper that began publishing in 1957.

"The Trinity Tripod is a newspaper published by Trinity College students since 1904. In early years the Tripod was published two times a week but now is published biweekly."

Primary student newspaper of UCSD campus, dating from 1967. Images include earlier versions of the Guardian, such as the Triton Times and special issues titled Hiatus. Scanned from originals in the UCSD Archives.

Images of various student newspapers, other than the UCSD Guardian. Includes titles such as Black Voices, New Indicator, Revellations, and Ujima. Scans were made from originals in the UCSD Archives.

Access a variety of materials on Notre Dame history including student newspapers dating back to the 1960s; William Tecumseh Sherman Family Papers, 1808 - 1891; Correspondence of Rev. Edward Sorin, CSC, 1839 - 1893; Theodore M. Hesburgh Speeches, 1947 - 1991 and more.

"The Vassar College Digital Newspaper Archives provides access to a wide range of newspapers published by Vassar College students from 1872-present. The publications feature numerous diverse topics, political opinions, literary works and criticisms, and rich illustrations; overall, they provide an excellent overview of ideas, issues, and events happening on- and off-campus throughout Vassar's history."

The Cadet (originally The Keydet), VMI's student newspaper, began weekly publication in the fall of 1907. The collection begins with Volume 1, number 2 - the very first issue is not extant. The newspaper has been published continuously since 1907, except for a three-year gap during and immediately following World War II. The collection is fully searchable.

"Student newspapers produced at the University of Warwick between 1965 to 1991: "Giblet" (1965-1967), "Campus" (1967-1973), "The Warwick Boar" (1973-1991) and feminist magazine "Cobwebs" (1986-1987)."