It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"The Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women's Education is an online locus of scholarship on the history of women’s higher education. The Center aims to foster inquiry and dialogue on how the history of women’s education has informed contemporary life and how it will shape the global future. Through its blog, exhibits, instructional lesson plans, and digital collections the Center provides informative materials and a digital space for teaching and learning on these topics."
"John A. Morsell, Assistant to NAACP Executive Secretary to President John F. Kennedy requesting the assistance of the federal government in the case of James Meredith,September 21, 1962."
"President Kennedy responded by federalizing the National Guard and sending Army troops to protect Meredith. After days of violence and rioting by whites, Meredith, escorted by federal marshals, enrolled on October 1, 1962. "
"The San Jose State College Digital Civil Rights Collection documents campus protest movements that took place from the 1960s-1970. San Jose State College (SJSC) campus protest movements reflected the explosion of student unrest on college campuses across the nation. Between the years 1968-1972, student unrest dominated college life. Students at SJSC responded to national and local issues that included civil rights, equal access to housing, student clubs and organizations, athletics, demands for relevant curriculum, and protest against the escalation of the Vietnam War, that included protests against the draft and the presence of the ROTC and DOW Chemical on campus."
"... the newspaper of Columbia University and Morningside Heights and the second-oldest college daily paper in the country. When completed, the Archive will include the complete run of the newspaper from 1877 to the present. "
"This archive contains 250 speeches by Dr. K. Patricia Cross and seven Cross papers commissioned by the League for Innovation in the Community College. The speeches are organized by decade beginning in the 1960s and ending in 2001, and within each decade they are placed chronologically. "
"The Queens College Campus Unrest Collection contains papers, correspondence, and flyers regarding the Spring 1969 sit-in protest of the social science building by the Ad Hoc Committee to End Political Suppression. The protest was in defense of the three members of the Students for a Democratic Society who were arrested and charged for leading a protest for the removal of General Electric recruiters from QC campus. The sit-in lasted four days resulting in the arrests of thirty-eight students and one faculty member, who were all charged with trespassing, despite the continued demands for amnesty to the administration from the SDS and the AHCEPS."
"On September 29, 1962, as measures are taken to safely transport James Meredith to the University of Mississippi where he will enroll in accordance with a U.S. Supreme Court decision upholding desegregation of the institution, President John F. Kennedy and Attorney General Robert F. Kennedy make a series of phone calls to Gov. Ross Barnett who has openly defied the Court's ruling. In one secretly recorded call that day, Attorney General Kennedy gets exasperated when the governor shoots down his idea for crowd control. "
"On the road to Civil Rights, even children became public figures, such as six-year-old Ruby Bridges, who integrated an all-white elementary school in New Orleans on November 14, 1960. Four years later, Norman Rockwell depicted her brave act of just walking to school, escorted by federal marshals, in a painting, “The Problem We All Live With.” Episode Five: Rise! includes historic footage of Ruby Bridges’ first day at school and a conversation with her today."
"The Black Caucus at the University of California, San Francisco was founded in May 1968. The Black Caucus helped establish the Affirmative Action Office and minority training programs on campus, fought for increased minority student enrollment at UCSF, and supported staff in labor disputes. The records document the formation and activities of the UCSF Black Caucus and include correspondence, meeting materials, publications, and photographs."